We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurley's of Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hurley's of Queenstown
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights in February, and found it to be comfortable and value for money. The staff were very helpful as well. The room they first had allocated had quite a bit of road noise so i asked to be moved to the other side of the hotel and they were happy to do that. The room had plenty of space, and the bathroom was very nice. The continental breakfast was quite adequate without being exciting.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    144
    58
    25
    12
See reviews for
61
204
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Staff were helpful, rooms were very clean and the hotel has a very cosy atmosphere. Great for families.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ka638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Hotel staff was very accomodating. I stayed 2 nights before the Routeburn Track and returned 2 nights later to stay 1 more night. I was able to simply leave my luggage in the room and the hotel staff put into storage for me. I left a note on top of my luggage saying to please put the food I left in a plastic bag in the frig into the hotel's frig so that I could collect it upon my return. Evidently they did not do this, so when I asked for my groceries when I returned and they could not find them, the owner replaced them for me.
Also the same man gave me a ride for $25 NZ to the airport
I never could get the AC to work in either room. I think it was turned off, but I did not ask about it .
The shampoo and conditioner and hand lotion are all very good. The kitchenette is also very helpful and incudes dishes and cooking utensils, mini frig and microwave, dish towels and soap and 2 burner electric stovetop.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside and onthe 2nd floor to be able to open the sliding glass door to cool off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tango191191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurleys55, Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thanks for your review and pleased to hear you enjoyed the Routeburn walk, it is truly an amazing adventure and scenery is spectacular. Very happy to store luggage for any track walkers. Food is obviously a bit more difficult with so many rooms and limited fridge space.
We don't have air conditioning in rooms. The dial is the underfloor heating for the winter. Had you came to reception and inquired we would have provided you with a fan for cooling.

Thanks again for reviewing your stay with Quality Inn Hurleys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The property was easy to find, just corner from the main road. And it’s only 5 min walk to downtown, but the road quite steep. The room was on the ground floor with amazing view to the mountain. It was nice and clean, and even has access to the parking lot so it was easy for us to go in and out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If I have a chance to visit Queenstown again, definitely will back to Hurley’s.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbyJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurleys55, Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Many thanks for taking time to review your stay here at Quality Inn Hurleys. It was a special time to be in Queenstown with the snow fall. Our staff always strive to provide you with the knowledge to have a fantastic stay in queenstown. Happy to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Queenstown is amazing, and Hurley's made it even better. Situated right at the foot of the Remarkable Mountains, with sunsets to die for, Hurleys is perfect. I hate to make too many people want to go there, because I want my room back! Newly remodeled. We had a suite for 4, and it was 2 stories, with a kitchen and a living room with sliding glass doors opening to the mountain view, also a half bath and fold out queen sofa. upstairs were two huge bedrooms and a full bathroom. one bedroom had a full wall window view! wow. TV's in each bedroom and the living room. and the Innkeepers - wow. We had nothing planned, they sat down with us each day and gave us recommendations, then made the reservations for us. It's only a 10 minute walk into town, but when they could, they even drove us in their car!
Best experience ever, and don't miss the jet boating, bungee jumping, Kiwi Haka show and buffet and Doubtful Sound cruise! oh yeah, and the Lord of the Rings Hummer tour was fantastic, including tea and cookies on the hood of the Hummer, made by our big tough Kiwi guide, in a meadow filmed in LOR! Definitely should be on your bucket list, regardless of your age!

Room Tip: ask for the 4 person, two story one with the view of the Remarkables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigicleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurleys55, Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Pleased to hear you enjoyed Queenstown and have taken time to tell others about your great stay at Hurleys. We certainly enjoy helping our guests and providing transport to town when we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Visiting in June just after a record snow fall and our room was super warm, spacious and cosy, with everything we could possibly need. The location was also fantastic and we always walked into town. Staff were also super friendly and helpful. At the price I thought it was value for money. Thanking you, would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room looking out to the road, lake and mountains and it was quiet and fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

If we had booked this room for $100 a night as one of the previous reviewers had we would have been more than happy. However we booked thru Expedia Secret Rooms advertised as up to 40% off normal rates and paid $135 thinking we were booking into a 4.5 star Hotel and not a motel.

The room we were given overlooked the carpark and there is a construction site next door although we were there on a Sunday and it was quiet. There was a view of the hills and the gondola. There was a very friendly greeting at reception. The place is a bit tired looking - kitchenette as you go in right next to the bathroom. Shower with plastic curtain over past its day spa bath. If you are booking through Expedia expecting to find a 4.5 star establishment be prepared to be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveltripperUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurleys55, Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thanks for review, we are disappointed to hear you found the experience at Hurleys less that what you expected. The construction site was beyond our control however you had wonderful views of the Skyline Gondola and Bob's peak.
Your areas of concerns have been noted and referred to the owners for there next meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.8 km away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 km away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#33 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.0 km away
Amity Lodge Motel
Amity Lodge Motel
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 km away
Autoline Motel
Autoline Motel
#38 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurley's of Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurley's of Queenstown

Property: Hurley's of Queenstown
Address: 1 Melbourne Street | PO Box 1277, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Hurley's)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hurley's of Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at Hurley's of Queenstown. Rooms are spacious with either king or queen size beds. All rooms are self catering and at the end of your day relax in the spa bath located in all bathrooms. We have a gym, internet kiosk and sauna all on site for your use. Decor is fresh, chic and in relaxing neutral tones. We're located only a 5 minute walk to CBD and have easy access to the connectabus for anyone wanting to travel to Frankton shopping centre or Arrowtown. We have lots of knowledge to share with you and provide a free booking service for any activity in this area and Milford Sound. For those travellers with bikes, skis or golf club we have lockable storage for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hurley's of Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hurley`s Hotel Queenstown
Quality Inn Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing