We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,698)
Filter reviews
1,698 results
Traveller rating
611
578
263
146
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
578
263
146
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread maker garden suite free wifi full kitchen lake view apartment the penthouse gas fire continental breakfast bed apartment large balcony we stayed in a two bedroom close to town underfloor heating amazing views living area car parking easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1,698 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

If you are thinking of going to the Peppers , stop and book somewhere else , the marketing is hiding the reality. We recently paid &745 per night for a three night stay , $2236 in all. We thought this was an upmarket place and very special. We were wrong, first surprise during checking in process they inform of another charge of $24 per night to park. This is on top of the $745 per night , wow let’s gouge the tourists. The room was big but when you start to look at it the carpet is a mess , it is not fitted nor luxury, there are ruffles everywhere all over the apartment, the fridge freezer looks like it has had a fight with a steak knife and the table looks like a Dalmatian with all the heat stains.
On top of this forget thinking that your room would be serviced before 4.00 pm, no way and even then you have to ask for clean towels after 4.00 pm.
The smiles at reception hide the deceive that they know they are ripping of any visitor to Queenstown, and be careful with your credit card as they charge you after you have left for a mini bar that does not exist.

Avoid this place at all costs, there are better places in Queenstown, and never be fooled by there price tag that suggests five stars , it would be lucky to get a 1 star.

Management are non existent, and complaints are handled with disdain.

This was the worst ever experience in Queenstown, but one of the most expensive mistakes. No wonder New Zealander people avoid the place like the plague.

You are now informed of what goes on behind the gloss of the website and the smiles.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank AlistairD140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peppers-Queenstown, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Alistair, Thank you for your feedback.

I would like to apologize for the shortfalls mentioned, From the moment you got in contact with us the minibar charge was refunded to your credit card. From what I can see of your booking you were upgraded to our Penthouse.

This isn't standard of Peppers to have the rooms in such a condition and we are currently working on a refurbishment package so that the rooms are maintained to a high quality throughout the hotel.

I seem confused with the above comment on our reception team and their complaint handling as they are known for their high level of service, however i will also make improvements in this area and make sure that this is reflected though our team.

I care to disagree with the comment on our management team, They are very hard working individuals who give their all to their workplace. I couldn't be more happier with our team.

We get visitors from all around the world including New Zealanders who have enjoyed our hotel and the facilities.

With the above comments in mind I will make improvements in these areas.

Warm Regards,

Your Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

We stayed with 2 Adults and 2 Children. The rooms are fantastic. They have separate rooms and showers and and joint lounge/kitchen. Stunning views aswell. The only let down was parts of the hotel were being upgraded and we were not aware of this until we got there. No Inhiuse restaurant but that didn’t matter as all the restaurants are within 5 minutes walk.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank GavinR615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit to Peppers chosen for the location -close to shops/wharf and a stunning view from the 10th floor of Lake Wakatipu and the snow capped Remarkable mountains.
Stayed in a two bedroom unit with large balcony, kitchenette, two bathrooms (one with spa). Bedroom 1 had two single beds with TV and large bathroom,other room smaller bathroom with one queen size bed.
Rooms were warm - floor heating and a gas heater - beds were very comfortable. Kitchen contained all essentials plus mini- bar and complimentary coffee/tea/sugar/milk.
Check in and check out was easy and staff were helpful in every way from information to taxi services.
While our first visit wasn’t the best we felt Peppers needed a second chance and we weren’t disappointed.
Thanks - we will certainly visit again!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank kallia63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Very disappointed with the hotel and the staff. Facts;
- checking in at 6pm and our room was not ready.
. Housekeeping coming at 4-6.30pm each day. After a big day skiing, u want to come back to a made up room ready for a rest.
- every day the bathroom flooded after a bath, reported 3 times and nothing done.
- rang reception at 4.30 asking for towels to mop up the water, the receptionist was rude and I had to ring a second time 45 minutes later to get towels.
- 4 of us standing around the kitchen bench talking while cooking dinner at 6pm got a noise complaint from the adjoining room. Another noise complaint at 8pm while sitting around the dinner table eating dinner and laughing and talking. One more noise complaint at 8.30.... seriously if the walls are paper thin, do something about it, as a family at 6-8.30 pm enjoying our facilities this is ridiculous.
- The second bedroom has a window to the hallway with a florescent light making it impossible to sleep, after 2 days the couple in that room was moved to a single room, but the room should not be like that, get block out curtains or board up the windows.
- on checking out reception tried to charge us for the room that the manager moved my daughter to and tried to charge me for breakfast for 4 people x 7 days. We did not have breakfast on any day and I could see by the attitude of the receptionist that she did not believe me.
- We could not open the large sliding door to the balcony as it would not slide due to broken wheels, once again reported and nothing done about it.
Overall a disgraceful stay, we paid a lot of money for a one week stay and were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CamSam777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

Wonderful clean and tidy apartments with lovely staff just 5 minutes walk to main town area we had an apartment overlooking the lake. Queenstown was just wonderful heaps to see and do. Peppers is in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve230164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peppers-Queenstown, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Thank you Steve for taking the time to leave us with your feedback.


I'm very pleased to read that your apartment that you stayed in was very tidy and comfortable, Our housekeeping team will be pleased to read of this.

We are in a fantastic location which we are very lucky to have, Your comments on our team is wonderful to read also as they are always striving towards providing excellent service.

We hope to welcome you back to your next visit to Queenstown.

Warm Regards,

Your Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews