We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff , Amazing Night !!”

Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #15 of 53 Quick Bites in Queenstown
Price range: C$64 - C$80
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delicious fresh fare, with stunning views. Treat yourself to a sumptuous lunch or dinner at Skyline’s Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar at the top of the Gondola in Queenstown. As you dine, the floor to ceiling windows and panoramic views of Queenstown, Lake Wakatipu and the surrounding mountains will captivate you day and night. Our signature buffet dining experience offers something for everyone; from locally sourced wild meats to seasonal vegetarian dishes and a delectable dessert bar to remember.
Reviewed March 2, 2024

Amazing staff and great Kai! I had traveled down to Queenstown for a little weekend and I took my family & friend up to Stratosfare Restaurant and wow was it amazing, Gondola ride was awesome. As soon as you walk into the restaurant the hostess was smiling and very welcoming! Secondly Joshua was a delight when he took us to our lovely table! Our sweet server Pramila was very sweet and attentive when we needed. The Kai was great and to top it off the drinks were outstanding! I will be back!!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kaia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 2,774 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2024 via mobile

Buffet was average for the price paid. Seafood was limited consisting of only prawns and muscles (no oysters and crabs) and didn’t taste fresh. Meat was okay, lamb shoulder was nice. Rest of the food was average given how expensive it was. You are really paying for the view. I would recommend going on the gondola, luge and viewing deck (to see the view again) then book a nice dinner at a proper restaurant for your money’s worth.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank AT_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 10, 2024

We had an end of year lunch celebration with our staff. Plenty of variety of food and great service. The staff seemed happy to work and serve there.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrs C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 9, 2024

This was our fourth trip up here to the buffet and it was probably our least favourite. You would expect NZ lamb to be perfect - it certainly wasn't, it was very fatty and full of gristle.
The rest of the buffet was good, but the lamb really put a damper on the evening.
Maybe it has run its course for us and we won't be doing it again - its not cheap either!!

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 27, 2023

Lovely large restaurant and, with not having been to many, and OK buffet. The food was good, but it was hard to get someone's attention for a drink. All very impersonable for the way that it is advertised, pricing and no information on how to pay etc when your seated.
Recommend doing the cheapest dinner option and no need to sit at a window for the view, you can see it well enough, and after dark the glare from the inside lights ruins the view anyway.
Have to say though, best Seafood Chowder we have ever had!

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TMM818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.