We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“101 with nature experience”
Review of Knobs Flat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knobs Flat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We were traveling to Milford Sound from Queenstown and decided to spend a day in Te Anau, stay overnight close to Milford Sound to make early drive short and pleasant. Knobs Flat exceeded my expectations. I wish I spent more time there. Nice small resort hidden in the mountains. All rooms equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay, however don't count on TV or internet. There is no reception. This is your opportunity to stop staring in your smartphone or computer screen and get out on 101 with nature. Listen to the near by waterfall, see how huge the stars are when you get close to them, smell earth scents, listen to birds...
Practically, you have the stove, the fridge, French press for coffee and coffee supply, comfortable beds and good showers. Everything is sparkling clean and the manager is very helpful. They also have campground if this is your traveling preference. I highly recommend to stop by.

Room Tip: We've booked two large units with queen size bed, one had an additional sofa bed. Both were exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yelena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

We were traveling as a honeymooning couple. Found the website extremely informative so we were well prepared as to what to expect. Brought our own tin foil, ziplocks, fresh food, condiments etc. The front desk is fairly well stocked if you are missing an item.

We booked cabin with a queen bed. It was wonderful! Quality construction, efficient use of space, absolutely spotless with all the essentials (including a great assortment of teas and coffee). Good linens and nice bed - what else could you ask for after a long drive! Ours actually had a lovely view of a waterfall across the road!

Front office was more than helpful, had all the info/connection to all the different activities/cruises.

10+++ for location! I highly recommend staying overnight at the Knobs Flat to get on an early Milford Sound cruise ahead of the tour bus madness from Queenstown. Pause and enjoy the peaceful fresh air.

Room Tip: Bring extra plastic bags for your trash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Very old and small cabin, very basic facilities, many sand flies, extremely expensive for such a poor quality. Location is good 1.5 hour drive from Milford Sounds. Starting from 6 am cars driving on the main street make a lot of noise.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maciej H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Awesome scenery and short walks from the accommodation. Friendly helpful host. We stayed here for 1 night. We didn't have a booking but we were lucky to get a staff caravan (it saved us from putting up our tent). The caravan was great, warm, tidy and cosy. The kitchen gets busy so get in early otherwise you'll have to wait for a cooker.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

If you need a stop over between Te Anau and Milford Sound, this is the place for you. Very nice cabins and the best secret waterfall ever, sorry PC, had to tell someone about it. Just ask PC for directions to the falls. Highly recommend for a night or two without TV and Internet connection...ahhh the serenity!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank DagzandLynnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This is the perfect place if you want:
1. A great host
2. A convenient location in between Te Anau and Milford Sound, and very close to the Routeburn Track
3. A stay that feels very remote with great scenery to view from your bed or porch

Our cabin was great. We had a large unit with queen bed and the kitchenette and bathrooms were clean, roomy, and everything worked well. I can't think of anything remotely negative about this stay, unless you want the wifi and feeling of being in a town/city. We were able to cook ourselves a meal, we had some wine in the fridge, and we enjoyed a private dinner with great views.

There's also a really great waterfall about 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmihalik24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This small facility is located in a fantastic valley, surrounded by tall forested mountains. The room was very clean, had nice cooking and bathroom facilities with the room. We rented one of their 3 stand alone cabins. The host was very helpful and gave us good information about trails and sights in the area.

Room Tip: GO for the cabins for best privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdadBoerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
55.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
54.7 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 22 in Te Anau
400 reviews
54.3 km away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.1 km away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
194 reviews
30.1 km away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
49 km away
Fiordland Lodge
Fiordland Lodge
#2 of 27 in Te Anau
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knobs Flat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knobs Flat

Address: SH 94 Te Anau Milford Highway | Te Anau, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Knobs Flat Te Anau, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing