We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and worn out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
gold coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old and worn out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in a "lakeview tourist flat" - honestly I was expecting much better for the price I paid. Kitchen was tiny, the bedroom for the kids had no windows and was dark, carpet, bathroom and furniture were just looking old - everything was just old and worn out. I wouldn't have minded it so much if it was priced better, but I thought I paid top dollar for it compared to the other places we stayed in while in the South Island. On the plus side, the lake was just across the road.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojerjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thankyou for your review. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with the Tourist Flat accommodation . We will be refurbishing these rooms over the Winter months and this includes carpet / paint and upgrade of bathroom and Kitchen areas.
They are a very popular choice because of the great Lake and Mountain Views
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    270
    94
    26
    23
See reviews for
225
281
65
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
182 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a marvelous two nights stay here in one of the lakeview tourist flats. The view of Lake Te Anau, which is just across the street from where we were staying, was fabulous. There was a picnic table in front of the room where we had dinner one time. The lakefront was very serene and peaceful since there were more ducks than people when we were there. Right beside the holiday park was Ivon Wilson Park which has a small lake (Lake Henry I think) and had tracks for biking.

The room was clean and very functional although it still had an old CRT type TV. As long as the beds were good and the kitchen was complete, we were pretty much contented. The thin walls and squeaky floor though might be a problem for light sleepers. We could hear people talking in the other rooms. But since we were tired from all the hiking and travelling, this did not bother us much.

The staff in the reception were friendly and quick during the check in process. I would not hesitate staying here again when we come back to Te Anau.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banzai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thankyou for your review of your stay with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed the property. We will be doing some upgrading of these units over the Winter which will include the older style TVs being replaced with flat screen TVs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We rented a lake view tourist flat for three nights. This room had a killer view of the lake and was very spacious. There were only two of us, but we had four beds, and a sofa. Like all places we stayed, there was no A/C, but it cooled off just fine at night with cool air coming off the lake. It is a nice walk into town. I loved going out to look at the stars at night. It was the perfect place for us in Te Anau. I would stay here again. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: Get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suncube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thankyou for your review of the Lakefront Tourist Flats. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful view of Lake and Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Easy to find on main road. Central to all activities.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

When we arrived we were offered a standard or superior accom. (Marakura) On the spur of the moment we took the more expensive option. What a treat ! Beautiful modern two bedroom apartment that I could cheerfully live in with stunning views. Had a job to prise myself away from the balcony. Friendly helpful staff - especially the girl from Belfast !
Though it is brand new there are a couple of design flaws. One bedroom has the hanging space the other has the drawers - and the kitchen workspace is really not very ergonomic but I could forgive a lot for the comfort and the location.
You know you've enjoyed somewhere when you are so reluctant to leave. We managed to squeeze in four nights.
From a practical point of view its the last building in Te Anau so a stiff wlak back to amin eating area or other facilities but near a lovely parkland area and the lake is literally across the road - which is virtually deserted for most of the time.
note all my comments are specific to the manakura apartment block - there is a wide range on the site and this block is by far the most modern

Room Tip: I think upstairs gives even better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanCheshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thankyou for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the Staff friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was a great, cheap, clean and well located holiday village. We chose the least expensive private option and were so pleased with our cute little cabin with its own flower garden in front of the porch. It was a lovely place to stay And the free wifi was an added bonus

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thankyou for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very friendly park, with good facilities. The unpowered area is just a sloping field but close to anemities. Reasonable close to town. They offered to let us park all day on the day of checkout when we were off in Milford.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwayswander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thankyou for your review. We have a variety of areas around the Holiday Park set aside for unpowered and Tent Sites. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.8 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.2 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.9 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 km away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park

Property: Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Address: 77 Manapouri - Te Anau Highway | P.O. Box 81, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#14 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large property with a wide range of accommodation. Opposite Lake Te Anau with stunning views of Lakes and Mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Te Anau
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing