We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
68
46
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
46
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound short stay comfortable place to stay small kitchenette the kitchen short walk the main street town centre fiordland national park beds were comfortable new zealand stayed two nights alpenhof motel accommodation lake laundry
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 129 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018

We only stayed one night as we were picking up an overnight tour the next day. The rooms may be simple but they have everything you should need. Staff were very friendly and helpful and they looked after our main cases for us until we returned from our overnight trip. Accommodation is also just a short walk away from the main street and the lake.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Well located a short walk away from central Te Anau. Friendly young woman owner, easy to deal with. Rooms not luxurious but very clean and had absolutely everything you could need. Really liked the outside space in the garden. Great location for Milford Sound. Within walking distance of the getty for the glow worm cave tours. I would have given this property a 5 star rating except that the office hours are very short and you can only do laundry from 2-7pm. We weren't on site until it was a bit too late to get the clothes dried as well as washed. Good value for money, would stay again.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 24, 2017 via mobile

The person who checked us in was friendly and happy to help us with early check in. The place is simple, but clean and comfortable. We used this place to travel into Milford Sound and back (2hrs each way), great choice since there’s only 1 small lodge on the Sound this is as close as we could get to avoid extra hour each way back to Queenstown, while a bus from Queenstown to Milford would have been nice if you rent your own car there are so many cool trails and spots to stop at along the 2 hour drive to the Sound I recommend renting a car and staying in Te Anau...this is also best way to take advantage of twilight kayak tour (currently only by Roscoe) because main buses don’t depart Milford Sound that late in the day. Twilight on the Sound in summer 4-8pm is quiet since most big tour boats stop running you can have a much more majestic experience.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NancyR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2017

I booked here having read many reviews about how helpful and friendly the hosts were. If it didn't have the same name, I would have thought they were talking about some place else.
The property operates on 8.30 till 5pm open hours. Never heard of that before in the motel industry.
Comfortable accommodation, handy laundry.Kitchen was "compact". The kitchen tap was turned off so hard, that I was unable to turn it on. Then when my husband turned it on, neither of us could get it to turn off properly, so there was a constant drip, drip, drip all day and night. Not a lot of fun when you are in a studio, and that dripping is in your sleeping space. At check out I explained this to the "foreign "guy behind the counter, and he just gave me a piece of paper to write it down. I think he may have very limited English, which is probably not ideal.
This was a good base for us to do our "Doubtful Sound Cruise", which was amazing.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguinlover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights. Very convenient location to Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound and Kepler track. Clean rooms with kitchenettes and everything you need. Walking distance to a supermarket, restaraunts and shops. Nice location for a lovely walk by the shore - nice walking path in town. Tony, the owner was most helpful. Always pleasant, smiling - he makes you feel at home. He also told us that he sold the place and later this year a new owner will be taking over. Hopefully, a tradition of excellent customer service will remain.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magdalena6819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews