We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Tussock Motel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had a 1st floor room at the end by the road so we had glimpses of the lake. This being part of a long tour of NZ and was probably our 20th Motel, I was very impressed. The room was
tastly furnished and decorated and you felt at home. Not much traffic noise as Te Anau is not exactly busy. We got the small ferry across the lake to walk part of the easy bit of the Milford Track, very useful if you want a circular route. I reccomend this Motel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staghunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    50
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
43
97
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I had a ground floor room of a two story unit. Queen + single beds, analog tv, bathroom with shower, kitchenette, dinette table with 3 chairs, 2 other chairs. The room was spacious enough for one and the accommodation was clean. My only complaint was that the walls were paper thin and all outside noises, including traffic and upstairs tenants, could be easily heard. The other complaint I had was that free wireless Internet frequently lost connection, forcing me to reconnect by re-entering the login and password.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The room was immaculate, appeared to be newly decorated. bathroom was fab and bed most comfy of the whole trip. Kitchen accommodated our needs with good supply of equipment. The proprietor was awesome, so helpful and let us leave our car overnight when we went on the Milford Mariner. Top marks we will be back.

Room Tip: Good quiet location, five minutes walk to town center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Our stay at the Red Tussock motel was definitely one of the accommodation highlights of a 2 weeks road trip around the South Island. The room looked newly renovated (or in very good condition), the little kitchenette had everything we needed and the host was very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommendab

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Property is dated but good view of the lake. Bathroom floor boards was uneven probably due to wear and tear.

Bonus was the free unlimited wifi (only for 1 device each time though) which was great on my iPad for some entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Decor bit dated, room was small but had everything we needed. Were able to cook some basic meals. Friendly host with good advise on which trips to do. Free internet and excellent intranet for information. Good location, only a short walk to town. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank untermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The hotel is across the road from the lake. This was an immediate plus for going for walks or just sitting down and watching the sunset. Pleasant room. All amenities. Helpful host. Great price. We stayed here for two nights and did the day safari into Milford Sound for a kayaking trip. While at the motel a group returned from the Milford track. Seemed a friendly place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
0.1 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
376 reviews
0.6 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Property: Red Tussock Motel
Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Tussock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tussock Motel Te Anau, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing