We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Explorer Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birchwood Cottages(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
70
17
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
17
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese breakfastgreat hostsplumsmilford soundnew zealandour entire stayshort walk into townb bsrooms are spaciouskevintourste
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 93 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2015

We spent three nights in Keiko's Cottages during an unseasonably cool late spring when we were the only guests 2 of the 3 nights. The gardens are exceptionally lovely; we wished the weather had been better so that we could have enjoyed them even more.

The cottages are not new or modern, but rather comfortable. Our's had a very large living/kitchenette area with two extra twin beds which we used to spread out our luggage. There was a wooden table and chairs and three recliners. The bedroom with queen bed was also fairly large, and the bathroom/shower was clean and well-lit. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, so we didn't mind that they lacked a certain "charm." Had the weather been better, there was a lovely patio area with grill that we would have used.

There was a nice laundry facility available for a small fee, and the money went to a charitable organization which we appreciated. We were able to park easily as we were the only guests most of the time; and it's within easy walking distance to town and restaurants. We had a large and tasty (though pricey) breakfast there the last day with other guests, and enjoyed getting to know Kevin and Keiko better.

Kevin was full of good suggestions of what to do with our free time, and the final day very generously offered to drive us around to the other side of the lake where we walked a few hours on the Kepler Track and then back around on the Lakeside Trail. As we left, he all but begged us to take a longer drive to get on the Southern Scenic Route which we did. It was lovely and we're glad he was so insistent. Thanks, Kevin!

Only negative was there was no free wifi. It just seems this day and age...

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elainephill47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

We are sorry that Elaine found her accommodation here lacked 'charm' and wonder what we can do to improve things to her standard.
The 'pricey breakfast' was Keiko's beautiful Japanese style and we charged Elaine and her partner $26 pp, if served as a dinner in a restaurant it would be considered outstanding value-just show's you can't please everyone.
If we calculated the rate per hour we earn serving breakfasts we would stop, some days we spend 4 or 5 hours preparing, serving and cleaning for a little over $100 inc. GST ($13)
The Japanese breakfast takes an hour or so to prepare so there's not a lot there for us.
Elaine makes the point that they were the only guests on 2 nights and on the other there were only 2 others, well Elaine we usually only have about 6 guests and Te Anau was going thru a quiet period early November so we were pretty happy, it's not an indication that this is not a popular destination.
Keiko and I score highly as being good hosts but fail miserably on one aspect-mind reading!!
We failed to know that Elaine wanted to use our internet, if Elaine had asked we would have given her an access code-she didn't ask!
And value, Elaine booked thru an agent who added an unknown 'Finders fee' to our very reasonable tariff, for the best deal book directly with us and trust us to put together a very good itinerary for your excursions into Fiordland.
Lonely Planet lists us as mid range and we don't pretend we are anything but that.
Luv ya
Keiko & Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

Our stay here was lovely. Our room was very tidy and the bed super comfy! We enjoyed sitting in the little courtyard outside our room in the sunshine It is very quiet and peaceful here and walking distance to the township and lake. Keiko and Kevin were very kind, sweet and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it!

Stayed: January 2015
Thank Natashahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

Always nice to have Kiwi's staying with us, thanks
Keiko & Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2015

We chose Keiko's Cottages in Te Anau because I like places that are a bit different, rather than bland, and because the idea of two cottages in a lush garden was appealing. We were travelling with my husband's parents, so they had one cottage and we and our two kids had another. Both were a little small, especially in terms of kitchen space given that we were mostly self-catering, but we did have a lovely time there. The garden was beautiful, the beds were comfortable, and Kevin and Keiko were tremendous hosts. We got excellent advice regarding the timing of our Milford Sound trip from Kevin, who also recommended a good restaurant for vegetarians wanting a special birthday dinner. They also invited my son into their own loungeroom to play their piano, and were very complimentary about his skills! They made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2015

Kevin and Keiko are gracious and helpful hosts. They will book any tours for you and cheerfully provide helpful information on the Te Anau/Fiordland area. Our cottage was clean, quiet and comfortable and the surrounding garden is lovely. Be sure to request Keiko's boxed sushi lunches for an excursion; they are beautifully prepared and delicious! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bedelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

Thanks B, you are right about Keiko's obento lunch boxes-they are so yummy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2015

Nice place just few minutes from downtown.
Owners are always there for your needs and the breakfast is excellent!
I would suggest to the owners to unlock internet beside giving just few MB per user but it's ok though!
Room was comfortable with all the gadgets needed even if a little cold :-).
I liked the flowers outside everywhere!
The owners can give you advices for tours as well as booking them for you. I took the Doubtful Sound tour starting at their B&B on a bus (all day long).
Parking is included just outside of your room.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
Thank LB879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2015

We appreciate the positive aspects of LB and his partner's comments but we cannot understand how they failed to see the heaters in the room and in the bathroom, perhaps they were 'confused'.
If asked we give our guests vouchers to access our wifi and it's usually enough for their needs, if they want to watch a full length movie they can purchase additional data very cheaply thru the Zenbu site.
Mr LB had enough spare data to place this comment while at our accommodation.
We cannot have an open internet as LB suggests as not only our guests but everybody passing on the street would have unlimited access to our internet and nobody allows that.
Have a nice 2015
Keiko & Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews