We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
167
15
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
15
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarm experiencefarmer kenfarm activitiesgreat farmlambvalley viewfeeding the chickenstractor drivingfresh eggsfriendly dogslove animalscamp kitchenwonderful hostscart ridesschool holidayseach morningafternoon activities
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 183 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Thank you Elaine, Ken, Sam, Tom and Jo. We had a terrific few days at Barcoos. The kids loved all the activities and have been hard pressed to decide what was their favorite - possibly a tie between riding the gentle giant Prudence and tractor driving.

We stayed in the 'sheep paddock' in our own caravan - the interaction with the friendly sheep was a great bonus the kids loved. Extremely clean and adequate amenities for our use also.

Very glad we made the trip, it was a memorable family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raftery07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcoo, Owner at Barcoos Farmstays Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed being up the paddock with the pet sheep. If I was caravanning that would be my spot of choice also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016

We arrived at Barcoos and were greated by the lovely and warm Elaine. We were quickly involved in the afternoon routine of feeding all the animals, my daughters 10yo and 4 yo were staright into it and loved every moment from that point on, they were so excited waiting fpr the next feeding time. Horses, dogs, sheep, Georgie the pig, chickens and alpacas and the kids and adults were all invoved in their care. Kids got to have horse and pony rides. Then there was tractor rids where the kids got to drive (with from Ken help of course) was a highlight. Elaine and Ken made us feel right at home the whole time. We stayed in the farm house and loved it, though the waether was very cold outside we were so warm and toasty in the house with the combustion fire keeping us very comfortable. My kids loved being with the animals, and Elaine and Ken, it was a wonderful and relaxing family experience.Do it!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcoo, Owner at Barcoos Farmstays Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2016

Thank you Karen for you review. We very much appreciate it. It was miserable weather whilst you were here and we were very proud of the kids getting out and being involved in everything and great to hear the wood heater kept you warm. - Elaine & Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2016

We had a fantastic few nights staying in the Hillview unit with our 2 kids (5 & 8 years) during the week. Elaine & Ken are very welcoming and the kids had a ball getting involved in all the farm activities - feeding Georgie the pig, driving the tractor, throwing hay to the hundreds of sheep on the farm. We lost count of the number of horse rides the kids had - and our 5-year old who had a bit of an animal phobia has it no longer! Accommodation is basic but this is expected at a farmstay - thank you for such an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcoo, Owner at Barcoos Farmstays Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2016

Thank you Virginia for your review of your visit to Barcoos. Glad to to be able to help with the animal phobia kiddy. Our animals always overcome this phobia because they are so gentle and used to guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Valley View Cottage for 2 nights with our 8 and 5 year old. I can't recommend Barcoos Farmstay enough. It was perfect. The kids loved all the animals especially Ruby, Carly and Georgie. Elaine was lovely, she has a wealth of knowledge and loves her animals and her freshly baked bread in the morning was delicious.
Please do yourself a favour and leave stress behind head to the country and stay at Barcoos you won't regret it.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Georgie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcoo, Owner at Barcoos Farmstays Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2016

Thank you for your delightful review. We are so thankful you all enjoyed your visit. We certainly enjoyed having you visit. Elaine & Ken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

As a large group of two families we stayed in the farmhouse and loved it from the moment we arrived. The very kid-friendly dogs greet you as you drive up, and from then on relentlessly and patiently wait for you to throw them the ball. Elaine and Ken are really friendly, helpful and hardworking. The experience is interactive and the kids (ranging in age from 18mo to 5) got involved in all the feeding, pulling the trolley and riding. We had cold, rainy weather but this did not stop Elaine from making sure we got to feed all the animals twice a day (pigs, horses, alpacas, chickens, ducks, sheep), have pony and tractor rides and collect eggs from the chickens. We found that the kids were so interested in the animals and loved getting their wellies on and splashing in the mud so much that the weather made no difference to them. The highlights for them seemed to be the tractor and pony rides. My eldest daughter (5) overcame her fear of dogs thanks to the two lovely sheepdogs. The activities take about an hour and a half to two hours in the morning and in the afternoon. The rest of the time you are free to do what you like. We would have loved to take the kids out to the playground or have an open fire in the fire pit, had the weather been better. As it was, we enjoyed staying warm and cosy in the farmhouse with the combustion heater. I would highly recommend Barcoos to anyone looking to do a farmstay. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews