We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most interessting B&B 's”
Review of Caledonian B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broken Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caledonian B & B
Ranked #2 of 11 Broken Hill B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the most interessting B&B 's”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed there for four days and we wish we could have stayed longer! It was the great mixture of the nice rooms, the friendlyness of Hugh and Barbara and of course Hugh`s brilliant breakfast which made this stay for us so unforgettable. Hugh and Bab had always a ear for you and they could tell you everything about Broken Hill - forget all the guide books just ask Hugh!! He is a very political person so it was interessting listening to him when he talked abot the "political situation" in Broken Hill (what can the local government do to attract more tourists to Broken Hill) or just the general political situation in Australia. If we comeagain to Broken Hill we will defenetly stay again at the "Cally`s". It is higly recommended and you `ll never forget this stay in your life. That`s for sure!
Seemit & Annette

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    46
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
90
39
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Caledonian for one night a month ago. After spending one night in a caravan park cabin, we decided to look for something more authentic. It was a great choice: same price but huge difference in service! The room was really spacious, clean and furnished with taste. The breakfast included some delicious home made jams. We used the guests common fridge which was spacious enough to store our supplies for the next days of camping in Menindee. There was off street parking and the main road with restaurants and shops was a quick 5 mins walk from the B&B. Hugh gave us a lot of interesting insights in the life in Broken Hill and advices on what to do around the area. It was great to have someone always available to answer our questions, but at the same time, never intrusive. Oh and the two dogs were as nice as their owners and we had a lot of fun playing with them in the back garden.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Maureen and I stayed for 4 nights in a delightfully presented and very affortable cottage "Blue Wren" in Lane Street. It was cosy, well appointed with with the blue wren image and theme represented throughout. Hugh presented us with a welcome basket of goodies (bread, margarine, eggs,cereal etc) to get us started in the kitchen.
Blue Wren is located within less than a 10 minute walk to the city center.
Mine host, Hugh, is a wonderful resource on local history and visitor attractions.
We contacted Hugh through the Caledonian B & B which is a former period hotel converted to a family run B & B.
I would recommend the cottage accommodation to any couple or family visiting Broken Hill.

Richard and maureen O'Sullivan

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed with Barb and Hugh for two nights last week. Out of our whole week in the outback this was the loveliest place we stayed; very accomodating, homely and with all the comforts. The breakfast included in the price was everything you'd expect and more from a hotel continental breakfast and was the perfect start to the day. At the end of day two, my friend and I made ourselves at home and sat down on the couches with a wine and watched tv, great end to our trip :)

Thanks, and if I'm ever in the area will defintely say hi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have travelled to Broken Hill a total of three times in the past 6 months and stayed with Barb & Hugh for all three of these visits. They offer unparalled value and have created a warm and inviting atmosphere, a home away from home for all their guests.

Having stayed in the Kookaburra Cottage, Lavender and Lace Cottage and at the B&B I can say without a doubt that the Caledonian is a brilliant place to stay.

The service was incredible both at the B&B & the private accommodation, with coffee, tea and home made biscuits available all day every day, beautiful homemade breakfast at the B&B, and facilities for just about everything you could possibly need.

I could not have asked for more in terms of accommodation, and also had the opportunity to get to know the area better by drawing on the endless knowledge of owners Barb & Hugh who are always available to answer and questions you might have, point you in the right direction for a Broken Hill adventure or just for a chat.

Would definitely stay here again when travelling through the area!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed with Hugh and Barb in December 2011 for two nights and they couldn't be more helpful or welcoming. I took the room with ensuite which was quiet and comfortable and good value for money. Do take Hugh's offer up to cook breakfast, it's a little bit extra but he takes the time and really enjoys it and does a very good job to get you set up for the day. From the hotel I was able to walk around to everything I wanted to see. Hugh picked me up at the railway station even though I only called to book hours ahead of arriving and he took me for a tour around the town. The Cally is a lovely old converted pub and is a shady, quiet and cool place to stay. I wanted to stay somewhere authentic and cozy instead of a hotel and this place was exactly what I was looking for. Will stay again.

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in March. From the time of initial contact to sadly saying goodbye the service was excellent. Barb & Hugh were very welcoming & extremely helpful, without being obtrusive. Hugh's homemade hearty breakfasts got me off to a great start each day. He likes experimenting with homemade preserves, which I found delicious. Barb even drove me out to the cemetary so I could do some family research, & then we enjoyed wandering around together. The accommodation is located close to downtown....a very easy, flat walk. There is also a takeway just around the corner with really good chicken. There is a fridge for guests to use. The grounds are lovely & tropical...for the desert, & I spent a little time each afternoon throwing a ball around for Pierre the very sweet standard poodle. I had been here long ago when the Cally was still a pub. It was great to see what a fabulous job Hugh & Barb have done. The old bar area now holds works by local artists.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbsentAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCally, Owner at Caledonian B & B, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you AbsentAussie for your informative review. Barb and I feel we are very fortunate to have such wonderful Guests. It seems to be true that "as you give so will you receive" - I think it's called Karma. Only the nicest people come to stay with us - Cheers and thanks again - Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.8 km away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
326 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Crystal
Comfort Inn Crystal
#10 of 17 in Broken Hill
51 reviews
0.4 km away
Imperial Fine Accommodation
Imperial Fine Accommodation
#4 of 17 in Broken Hill
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
256 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
233 reviews
0.8 km away
Old Willyama Motor Inn
Old Willyama Motor Inn
#6 of 17 in Broken Hill
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian B & B

Property: Caledonian B & B
Address: 140 Chloride St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel was built in about 1885 and was granted a liquor license in April of 1898. It ceased to trade as an hotel in November of 1999 and the license was transferred to Sydney just in time for the Olympic Games. Barb has transformed the heritage listed building into the best Accommodation facility in Broken Hill according to the many reviews submitted by people such as yourself. So 'Thank You' When you come and stay with us! We will ensure you have the best experience possible because we strive to maintain the high standard we have set for ourselves. Don't forget to mention Trip Advisor when you book in - we have a special deal for you. Cheers Hugh & Barb ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing