We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great affordable family accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tallarook Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great affordable family accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and i have stayed several nights at the Tallarook Motor Inn on several occassions over the past 3 years. We always found the staff to be friendly and ready to go the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. The motel rooms have been extensively upgraded during this time with new LCD TV's, linen and bedspreads and renovated furniture. The motel is always clean and tidy. The current owners/operators Tony and Maureen are amoungst the nicest and friendliest operators we have come across anywhere. The motel is ideal for families with numerous 2 room units and is directly opposite a well kept park with the Mitchell River running through it. Beautiful spot, good accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    102
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
97
71
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A well kept functionary family room,all staff extremely friendly and helpful. Free wifi,cable tv,excellent linen & towels,ample parking close to supermarket.

Room Tip: No 14 upstairs family room balcony overlooking park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in March. The room was spacious with 2 double beds, bathroom (great shower!), good kitchen area, balcony and WiFi. Clean, comfortable and good value for money. Our room overlooked the park opposite and the McQuarie River where you can take a walk. Lovely quiet spot and our sleep was not disurbed. Friendly and helpful owners. Onsite parking also. Dubbo town centre was a short walk over the bridge and there was a small supermarket further up the road from the motel. We ate at the SSS BBQ Barn (over the bridge on the main road) a couple of times and food was lovely. Generous portions.

We were in Dubbo for a wedding which was held at the Lazy River Estate Winery, just outside Dubbo. Nice place to visit and have a relaxing drink although not sure if it's open all the time.

Also went to the Taronga Western Plains Zoo. Fantastic place. Nothing like we have back home! More of a Safari Park than a 'zoo'! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Compared to other motels of similar age, the Tallarook is value for money and has great kitchen facilities and spacious rooms however, a few things make it fall short of a 3.5 star rating. Sheets were clean but not pressed (which I found odd for a motel). We found an old sticky lollie under one of the single beds (obvsioulsy cleaners dont check under beds each clean), bathroom exhaust looked like it hadnt been cleanded for about 12 months and there was mould stains in the grout around the shower door. Apart from this, I would definatley return again but just feel that the cleaners need to pay a little more attention to finer details -Overall it was a good quiet location and great for families.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don22Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
303 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Small family run motel overlooking large park next to the river. Is this the best located motel in Dubbo. Did a delightful riverside walking / cycle track along the Macquarie river directly across from the motel. Scrupulously clean, good sized rooms with queen + 2 singles + settee, kitchen with full stove, large built in desk/table. A little bit dated with modest sized bathroom, modernised - with nice carpets, curtains, good beds & linen. Friendly & helpful owners. Excellent breakfast. Upstairs room overlook park and have balcony with great morning sun for breakfast. Excellent value. Benefits of quieter location a bit off the highway. Many motels in Dubbo are on the highways.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with balcony and view of park + river glimpses
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citfancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Large comfortable & clean rooms just what the doctor orders after a nine hour drive. The kids set up in front of the large tv and a long hot drowning under one of the best flowing showers I have had at any motel. Advice on local attractions and a point in the right direction to great food (within walking distance) was all we could of asked for THANKS TALLAROOK

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaune1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Tallarook exceeds all expectations of a Motel. The customer service was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. It was our first time to Dubbo and would definatly recommend Tallarook as the place to stay. The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. All facilities were of high standard. The hosts of Talkarook were friendly and very helpful and couldn't do enough for us to make our stay one to remember. I will most definatly be telling my friends this is the place to stay in Dubbo!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateballina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#14 of 30 in Dubbo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.7 km away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 km away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 km away
Akuna Motor Inn Dubbo
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Bluegum Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallarook Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallarook Motor Inn

Property: Tallarook Motor Inn
Address: 17 Stonehaven Ave, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubbo
#3 Family Hotel in Dubbo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tallarook Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tallarook is one of Dubbo's Premier Motor Inns. We cater for families, single travellers and business people alike. All of our spacious units are self contained with quality air conditioning and inclusions. Complimentary wi fi and Foxtel are also included.We have 10 ground floor units and all but one of our 13 upstairs units have a balcony.Our location is arguably the best in Dubbo. We are the only Inn on the Macquarie River, and a short stroll to a great range of conveniences like restaurants, fast food outlets, super markets and fuel stations. Across the quiet Stonehaven Avenue is the Biddybungie Reserve which features a great kids playground and plenty of picnic spots over looking the beautiful Macquarie River.So when your next in Dubbo, call in and say hi at the Tallarook, your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tallarook Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallarook Hotel Dubbo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing