We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
68
58
21
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
58
21
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastcomfortable bednew carpetroad noisewould stay againbig tvovernight stopgreat bathroomfamily roomvery pleasant stayfree internetone night stayclean roomscouple of nightsclose to shopsconvenient locationmanny
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 164 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2018

This motel was clean, easy distance to several great restaurants and clubs, and the owners were very welcoming. Breakfast was cheap, plentiful and in their dinning room.Every thing was pleasant. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny P, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jenni L,
Thank you for your very kind words, and the positive review of our Motel.
hope to see you on your next trip to the Newcastle .
Warm regards
manny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

Room 26 this time. Room 23 last time. Whichever the room, the experience of staying at this hotel is consistently good. Always a welcoming Manny at the reception to say a warm hello, neat and clean room, toilet, nice size. She kept her smile even when I locked myself out of my room within 5 mins of stepping into the hotel!
It's a pleasure staying here!

Room Tip: First floor rooms
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny P, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ajay M,
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your stay with us.
We very much appreciate your review, and more importantly, we appreciate and value your business!
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards
Manny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

We were struggling to find a 2 bedroom apartment to rest after a long day of travel and came across this gem.

It was cheaper to book directly with the motel then through trivago.

The manager was easy to deal with and nothing was an issue. Room was clean and had everything we needed to rest for a few hours.

Abit of road noise in number 31. Cheap for what we were needing

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank t_g_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manny p, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Dear t_g_miles,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Motel and We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you.
Warm Regards,
Manny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018

The price was right for our group booking. Included with the room was a quick an easy breakfast in the dining area. The rooms were clean and suitable for our groups needs. Citigate worked with us to ensure we had our 12 rooms available including a late check-in with no fuss. While we had transport of our own, there is a bus stop right near the hotel which makes it easy to travel into town for those without a car. It may not be in the CBD, but Newcastle is a wide spread city which puts Citigate is in a convenient central location. Don't expect the Hilton, but expect good service and a comfortable nights sleep. You pay for what you get and the price fit the needs on this one.

Room Tip: Room upstairs / round back if you're a light sleeper staying mid week. Off street parking at your door if you want a front room.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCVAPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manny p, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Dear HCVAPres,
Thank you so very much for your positive comments. We realize that it takes time to write these reviews
we really do apprecaite your time and efforts.we look forward to being of service to you for many years to come.
Warm Regards,
Manny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2018 via mobile

Even keeping in mind it is a budget motel I think they need to lift their standards. There was mould growing on the roof of the bathroom above the shower, there was also blood on the roof. The room was uncomfortable and stuffy, the one window with flywire on couldn’t be opened and was stuck shut. There was aircon which we had no choice but to use but would have been more comfortable had we been able to open the window.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manny p, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hi Sarah M,
Thank you for your review of our Motel. After I have look into each issue that you have noted, Let Me Answer That for You.

You couldn't open window? All our windows are double glazed glass which can be open but required a little effort. You should've come down to reception to see us for any issues or inquiries.

Lift our standards ? We have recently spent a great deal of money and effort renovated our motel.

Blood on the roof ? I think you maybe over exaggerated after I read your review. Our staff and I investigated every room and we haven't see any blood on roof and if it is , you won't stay in room for over night.Does it make sense to you???

Sometimes little issues can be overlooked but not as bad as you mentioned .
I would be pleased to discuss this with you further if you call me directly .

By the way, we cannot find your name on our database so not really know if you are our legitimate guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews