We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Lucky Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$163
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Junction Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crown On Darby Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
The Executive Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burwood Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
287
135
28
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
287
135
28
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater savingprivate hospitalpetrol stationglebe roadhand washingmary ellenchinese restaurant next doorcoles expressservice station next doorfree wifibusy roadmain roadbbq areafamily roomcomfortable bed and pillowsfoxtel channelspacific highway
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 453 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

Nice and clean. We were opposite the school but it wasn’t at all noisy. Next time we’ll book one of the front rooms facing the ocean. Staff we very friendly and helpful. We didn’t order breakfast so can’t comment on that.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank photoaddict555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Hello,

Just checking you have reviewed the correct property. Merewether Motel is located 1.5kms from the beach and we aren't near a school. I just don't want other readers thinking we have ocean views. You should be able to remove this review if this is for the wrong property.

Regards,

Merewether Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018

Very happy with our new years trip to Newcastle this year and our stay at the Merewether Motel. It is a fairly convenient spot that is still quiet at night for a good nights sleep. The place was very clean and management were very polite and happy. While not an "easy" walk to the beach, we walked down most days and the heat was soon washed away in the cool water. Walking home was a breeze after a few drinks on the balcony at Merewether Surf House. Would definitely stay again next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BH3surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2018

Great for overnight business stay - easy base to get in and out of central Newcastle and out to the Hunter Valley and beyond.

Only slight issue was the bathroom sink in the bedroom which made things a little tight on space if more than one person or more than one night.

staff very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: I chose a ground floor room because it was easier for me.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Josh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018

The Merewether Motel is a very good pick for families needing some affordable accommodation while staying in Newcastle - the prices are very competitive, the location is close to everything & the rooms are comfortable. Although there are lots of choices in the area we found that The Merewether Motel provided the most value for the price & will definitely be using it again when we return to Newcastle.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are better (no stairs!) & there is little to no noise
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WayneP290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

My wife and I stayed on the 20:01:2018. Good location, 10min. to entertainment centre, hockey centre, 5min to beaches, good pubs, 2mins walk. City 10mins drive. Next to service station, Main road out front, traffic noise acceptable.Check in quick and friendly,(sent e-mail to say room was ready while we were traveling from central west). Off street parking, Room, high ceilings, good, quiet air-con, european size bathroom, comfy bed,paintwork carpet,bathroom, balconey spotless. Soft toilet paper, not usual industrial stuff ,windows clean..Adequite hanging space, small writing table, blockout curtains, plenty of room lighting, plenty of tea, coffee sachets, some drinking chocolate ones would be nice for people who don't like the former, free use of BBQ next to pool. The room was on the 1st floor facing east, overlooking the car park, nice to sit on the balconey and watch the sunrise, and pick up the afternoon sea breeze.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank stavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews