We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
321
149
32
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
149
32
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water saving private hospital petrol station glebe road hand washing chinese restaurant next door service station next door mary ellen coles express free wifi newly renovated rooms main road busy road family room pacific highway bbq area foxtel channels
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 505 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2018

This is a renovated motel, so has some anachronistic features. It's on a very busy road; my room overlooked the back of the adjacent service station. If you're worried about traffic noise, it may not be ideal for you. I had the aircon on all night, and that was pretty noisy too. However, the bed was comfy, the shower was good and there was a little table where I could eat my takeaway. There are good eating options within walking distance, and driving down Glebe Road takes you right into Darley Street, which is Newcastle's grooviest (short) strip.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

Nice and clean. We were opposite the school but it wasn’t at all noisy. Next time we’ll book one of the front rooms facing the ocean. Staff we very friendly and helpful. We didn’t order breakfast so can’t comment on that.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank photoaddict555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Hello,

Just checking you have reviewed the correct property. Merewether Motel is located 1.5kms from the beach and we aren't near a school. I just don't want other readers thinking we have ocean views. You should be able to remove this review if this is for the wrong property.

Regards,

Merewether Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018

Very happy with our new years trip to Newcastle this year and our stay at the Merewether Motel. It is a fairly convenient spot that is still quiet at night for a good nights sleep. The place was very clean and management were very polite and happy. While not an "easy" walk to the beach, we walked down most days and the heat was soon washed away in the cool water. Walking home was a breeze after a few drinks on the balcony at Merewether Surf House. Would definitely stay again next time we are in town.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BH3surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2018

Great for overnight business stay - easy base to get in and out of central Newcastle and out to the Hunter Valley and beyond.

Only slight issue was the bathroom sink in the bedroom which made things a little tight on space if more than one person or more than one night.

staff very friendly and welcoming.

Room tip: I chose a ground floor room because it was easier for me.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jmjn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018

The Merewether Motel is a very good pick for families needing some affordable accommodation while staying in Newcastle - the prices are very competitive, the location is close to everything & the rooms are comfortable. Although there are lots of choices in the area we found that The Merewether Motel provided the most value for the price & will definitely be using it again when we return to Newcastle.

Room tip: Rooms downstairs are better (no stairs!) & there is little to no noise
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WayneP290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews