We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$162
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Lucky Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Junction Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crown On Darby Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
The Executive Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Premier Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burwood Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
285
133
28
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
285
133
28
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater savingprivate hospitalpetrol stationglebe roadhand washingmary ellenchinese restaurant next doorcoles expressservice station next doorfree wifibusy roadmain roadbbq areafamily roomcomfortable bed and pillowsfoxtel channelspacific highway
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 449 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Always a pleasure staying at the unpretentious Merewether Motel. A stone's throw from the beach, shopping centre and gorgeous cafes and restaurants. I travelled there with my sister on the Saturday and they are always so accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018

Motel was very clean, tidy and well maintained. Room service breakfast good and reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Only criticism I could make is that 'standard' queen rooms are very very small and claustrophobic. Would not recommend these for more than a overnight night stay. Not sure if 'deluxe' rooms are any bigger but they do appear to have a big windows and a balcony at least to let some daylight in.

Location is neither good nor bad. One very nice pub in walking distance for good meals but not much else close by.

Pool was nice. However spa is not heated and you have to ask reception to turn it on.

Room Tip: Do not pick 'standard' room for anything more than an overnighter
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sim69417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2018

This is a renovated motel, so has some anachronistic features. It's on a very busy road; my room overlooked the back of the adjacent service station. If you're worried about traffic noise, it may not be ideal for you. I had the aircon on all night, and that was pretty noisy too. However, the bed was comfy, the shower was good and there was a little table where I could eat my takeaway. There are good eating options within walking distance, and driving down Glebe Road takes you right into Darley Street, which is Newcastle's grooviest (short) strip.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

Nice and clean. We were opposite the school but it wasn’t at all noisy. Next time we’ll book one of the front rooms facing the ocean. Staff we very friendly and helpful. We didn’t order breakfast so can’t comment on that.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank photoaddict555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveSwain, Owner at Merewether Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Hello,

Just checking you have reviewed the correct property. Merewether Motel is located 1.5kms from the beach and we aren't near a school. I just don't want other readers thinking we have ocean views. You should be able to remove this review if this is for the wrong property.

Regards,

Merewether Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018

Very happy with our new years trip to Newcastle this year and our stay at the Merewether Motel. It is a fairly convenient spot that is still quiet at night for a good nights sleep. The place was very clean and management were very polite and happy. While not an "easy" walk to the beach, we walked down most days and the heat was soon washed away in the cool water. Walking home was a breeze after a few drinks on the balcony at Merewether Surf House. Would definitely stay again next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BH3surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews