We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
48
85
39
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
85
39
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charming hotel pleasant stay room was large wineries keys
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 193 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2017

I have been coming here for the past 4 years every 3 months or so. The property is divine - hidden off the main road so its super quiet but still very central to every thing. There are a couple of superb vineyards in walking distance - ask the manager for her recommendations, they are worth visiting.

The rooms are very large and clean, the upstairs ones with views from a small balcony and the ground floor ones have a big table outside amongst the roses.

The price is fantastic - always cheaper than any other options and the fresh produce they give you for breakfast is all local. I love the Udder farm milk - old fashioned with the cream on top.

Pool is perfect in summer and in winter the outdoor fire pit is a great spot to make new friends over a bottle of wine.

The Villa is not a 5 star property and is a little old in parts, but the price, service, location, size of rooms and lovely staff make up for any short comings.

Room Tip: I love Chardonnay - downstairs by the pool in summer or one of the upstairs rooms in the colder months
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank invoicejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne B, Manager at Villa Provence, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Hi Jodie
thanks for the lovely review. It has been an absolute pleasure to host you and your friends over I think its been closer to 6 years! It is always lovely to welcome back you and any of our regular guests - you feel like part of the family. Jo, Manager Villa Provence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Filthy! I have travelled several times around the USA & this hotel was the filthiest by far. It was infested with spiders, not that daddy long legs are life threatening but when u have a wife who has a phobia it's a nightmare! I counted over 40 spiders & cobwebs that were around the top of the walls in every room. It took me 40mins to clean the room before my wife arrived. The dust & grim around the windows & air con was disgusting. There was a wire heart thing hanging above the bed which I took down because it also had cobwebs & grim on it & didn't want anything falling on our faces during the night. The kitchen still had crumbs around & the toaster was sticky with jam over it. There is no one on site to give assistance, u have to call & wait 45 mins till they can get there. The grounds were nice but definitely won't be returning or recommending Villa Provence!

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne B, Manager at Villa Provence, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. With relation to the issues that you have raised, you arrived quite late at night, hence there bing no one on site at the time to assist you. When you called we offered to send the contract cleaner out to rectify any issues with the room and the duty manager offered to come out as well - however you declined. When we spoke to you the next morning and asked what the issues were you pointed to an external door where you found some spiders and cobwebs, which you had brushed off yourself.

I do not wish to make light of cleaning oversights, they should not happen and I have passed your comments on to all of our cleaning contractors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Really liked this place. It's laid back, relaxed and reminds me of Tuscany. The rooms have everything, and are clean and tidy. The pool is a lovely addition. Kangaroos visit as the sun sets. Great hosts, happy to help with everything, but definitely give you your space. Well located and close to great restaurants which pick you up and drop you off.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Parakrousis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2017

We loved this place, would have loved to stay longer, bottle of wine & local chocolates left & a bottle of local milk, loved eating on our balcony with the wild life & the pool & gardens were beautiful. It was just like being in a French villa. Would certainly like to return.

Room Tip: Upstairs was great
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuleeH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Villa Provence is located off a main road , so was quiet and comfortable Room was clean and an added bonus was a welcoming bottle of wine in the fridge
The pool was in demand each afternoon Staff friendly and helpful
Having lived in the Hunter Valley for 8 years in the late 60's and early 70's we often come back to the great vineyards and eateries and this guest house was placed within a few kms

Room Tip: We enjoyed a top floor room , the A/C quickly cooled the room down in time for a very comfortable nights sleep
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews