We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning Sun and Kangaroos Grazing in The Distance”
Review of The Longhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Longhouse
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We purchased a 2 day stay through Luxury Escapes. We stayed in early Autumn, on a Sunday and Monday night.

The Longhouse is an unusually designed set of three, two bedroom holiday apartments, located in a quiet vineyard, in a quiet corner of Pokolbin. We stayed as a couple, so we did not use the second bedroom/ensuite. The apartments suit a couple, a family with children, or two couples who aren't concerned about privacy. One of the bedrooms cannot be completely closed off from the lounge/kitchen/dining area, so beware the potential privacy issues.

The design of the Longhouse takes full advantage of the location and view across the vineyards. Tall glass walls make you feel like you're sitting out in the valley, even in the comfortable lounge chairs. It's a beautiful and serene location. Large mobs of kangaroos wander the vineyards at dawn and dusk, adding to the atmosphere.

The apartments are clean and well maintained. Little extras like insect spray, BBQ wipes and plunger coffee make for an annoyance-free stay. The kitchen is large and well equipped. The beds are comfortable, with more than enough pillows and the ensuite bathrooms are above average, with all requisite extras.

Although hot, we rarely used the air conditioning. The apartment's ventilation is well designed and screened, allowing the clean country air to flow through. As it's such a quiet corner of Pokolbin, noise isn't an issue and yet it's only a few kilometres to the many of the popular vineyards and restaurants.

Each apartment has a small, well-serviced barbecue outside the front door. We cooked breakfast on it and then ate out on the back deck, enjoying the morning sun.

Our only (very minor) issue was the fact that there was not a frying pan, or tongs (for the BBQ) provided.

As an aside, I think too much fuss is made about the design, when the place has so much more going for it. I personally, don't choose a holiday location because it has won architectural awards.

We would stay here again, given the opportunity.

Room Tip: There are only three apartments, so I would request either of the 'end' apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank phantomfisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2015

4 of us (2 couples) stayed at The Longhouse for 2 nights in March 2015.

PROS: Quiet and peaceful location. Complete serenity. Massive kitchen with LOTS of space to prepare meals. Old fashioned fireplace that actually faces one of the bedrooms. Lots of great books to read, plus a couple of board games. Incredible shower with 2 heads. Beautiful deck to eat on. Friendly service. Comfy enormous couch, perfect for snuggling! Very clean unit. Large bed. Lots of open space for running and working out.

CONS: Lack of privacy (there needs to be divider panels on the deck that separate each unit). Kitchen was missing a couple of utensils (no peeler or potato masher), which made cooking the meal we planned difficult. Terrible pillows (way too soft, impossible to sleep on - I recommend bringing your own!). A cheap TV and rubbish DVD player made watching anything from our hard-drive impossible, and when we finally got a DVD to work, it was blurry (don't bank on their entertainment facilities, instead bring your own Blu-Ray player or laptop and an extension cord). No spa bath, inside or outside (a spa bath on the deck would have made our stay magical).

OVERALL: If you want a relaxing retreat away... and are looking for somewhere to chill out and unwind, this is it.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which one you choose, they are all equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chrisg276rec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

This place is interesting to say the least. It is located on a very quiet road, and the apartment is set in the middle of a vineyard. The architectarily designed accommodation looks stunning but has no curtains. There are three apartments in a row with a shared balcony. And if there are other guests that decide to walk up and down the balcony outside your room it can be extremely annoying especially when you are in bed. You may find yourself running into the bathroom to get changed. Seriously some people have no idea about respecting others space. If it was not for this though it would definitely get four stars for comfort deign. Curtains would make the world of difference, so would respectful neighbours

Stayed: February 2015
6  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

We stayed here for the weekend whilst attending a wedding of a family member. The Longhouse as the name suggests is a Long set of 3 x 2 bedroom villa's.
The Villa's have a central kitchen lounge room and Bedroom's on either side one which private and the other has a double sided fireplace whic his open to the lounge area so i wouls suggest you would to be fairly friendly with the other couple if you going as 2 couples.
In our case it was family so it was fine. the appointments are of a high standard and the bedrooms each have their own ensuite bathroom and toilet.
The location in the Hunter is nearly perfect and very peaceful being set on a contract grape growing vineyard and within reach of all the big wine makers.
All in all a very pleasant experience and one i would happily do again with the right couple as the price per night probably puts it out of reach for a couple on their own I would suggest. I am sure on a winters night the fireplace would make it a great spot to settle in for the night.

Room Tip: No wifi as another guest had abused the service. Dirt acess road so do not clean you car before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile

Had a luxurious stay in unit 1 for 2 nights recently and can't fault it beautiful accomodation with amazing views , Units were beautiful, clean and well presented(with a gorgeous bottle of local milk and wine)So close to vineyards and resturants can't wait to come back , spoke to Jo the manager she was very helpful and great knowledge of the hunter valley ... Didn't want to leave , I wouldn't stay anywhere else !!

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citychic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

Great experience with only three suites available, the room set out us architecturally designed and built by students but to a very high standard. Each suite has two bedrooms with modern bathrooms and the kitchen is spectacular. Bonus washing machine and profit all goes to future architectural student studies and research. You will love this and located smack bang in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: An end room will give you more privacy although general privacy was good anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We loved staying at the Longhouse! incredible experience from the design and decor through to the wonderful, warm service. Excellent location for exploring other vineyards in the Hunter. Although there are 3 co-joined units, we found that noise was not an issue at all. A must do - we will be returning not only for the accommodation but for the access to beautiful restaurants and vineyards, and the amazing vista and the daily visiting kangaroos!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ilovetotravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
7.5 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
5.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.3 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
2.6 km away
Cam-Way Estate
Cam-Way Estate
#9 of 39 in Pokolbin
141 reviews
5.9 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longhouse

Address: 385 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Longhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longhouse Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing