We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Kirkton Park ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

This year my family decided to do something different for Christmas so I booked rooms online for my family. They were not cheap but I thought it would be worth it. I was not disappointed.
The website is ok but really undersells this resort. The resort has fabulous activities including a huge indoor pool, a spa, a sauna, a well equipped gym, tennis courts, a full size pool table, a petting zoo and an organic vegetable patch where you are encouraged to pick your own vegetables.
After booking, I had to ring to make some changes and I was so disappointed to find their phone system is atrocious. It took 28minutes before someone answered and the person who answered was in the USA, she did her best to help but sId she would call me back, she didn’t. I had to follow up twice more before I got through after waiting 30minutes each time.
When I did get through, the staff were efficient and professional. I requested a room where we could bring our dog, a toy poodle. They had a room to cater for dogs and the room had its own fenced yard so the dog could wander outside. It was wonderful and the additional cleaning fee for bringing a dog that was not a service dog was worth it.
Upon arrival on Christmas Day we were met by a manager in a fabulous Christmas suit who showed us to our rooms. We were all happy and excited to be there. The place was just beautiful, so very pretty. Our rooms were recently renovated, large and sparkling clean. Beautiful! Although a small Christmas gift on our pillows would have added that special touch.
Every staff member was wonderful. They were each friendly, happy, efficient and although they gave up their Christmas to serve us, they were just delightful.
We did Christmas lunch at the hotel, which I have reviewed separately and breakfast the next day was lovely.
Before leaving to travel home we picked organic veggies from the garden to take with us, a nice touch!
Will I return? The answer is I loved it so probably yes but there are so many places to stay in The Hunter Vineyards,I want to try a few others. This, however, is the one that the others have to live up too. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam S, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi Deborah,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a detailed review on your stay with us over Christmas. Appreciate the feedback about the website and we have plans to update this space in the near future. We so thrilled to read you found everything pleasant and we could accommodate your fur-friend. Hope you enjoyed the veggies and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2018

Went to check out this venue for a possible wedding reception and the room they have available like the hunter rothbury room is so pretty and now its high on our list of choices. the Rose gardens they have there will be amazing for photos in the spring time

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam S, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi Luke,

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to our property. So thrilled to read you found the place amazing and the rose gardens make for beautiful photos. We hope to welcome you back for you wedding next time.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Check in was easy
Staff were awesome
Rooms were spacious and clean
Decor was perfect
Grounds and facilities were impeccable
It is close enough to everything yet far enough from the buzz to enjoy and a relaxing time.

Would definitely visit again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam S, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi David,

Thanks for the amazing review we are so pleased to read you found everything perfect. Our location really is a nice balance between adventuring the HV or relaxing on property in peace and quite. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Thank you Kirkton hotel, your staff are wonderful, cannot fault the service. We had a really lovely room overlooking the lake and a bottle of wine with a letter for us. Room is very quiet, very relaxing and it comes with a bath as requested :)

The breakfast was lovely with a view of the beautiful rose garden!
We were staying in room number #50 and we love it.

Cant wait to return to your property (hopefully soon) and I keep recommending you to our relatives and friends.

Ms. Yo

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Avelen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam S, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hi Avelen/ Ms. Yo
What a wonderful review to read and so glad you got to spend your anniversary with us. We appreciate the lovely words, the team work so hard to make every guest experience unique and your review makes it all worth it. Thank you for recommending us and YES come back to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location, just a short drive from botanical gardens and many quality wineries
Facilities at the hotel need some attention as it’s a bit run down, swimming pool and jacuzzi need a good clean
Our king room was overlooking the garden
Service by all staff was great

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eyal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam S, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

HI Eyal,
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we love you found the hotel location great and appreciate the feedback about the hotel facilities. We are continually doing maintenance and upgrades around the property and guest relstions helps us prioritise needs. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Hunter Valley.
Thanks again, best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

My previous reviews have all been excellent for this fine hotel and I am pleased to say my last visit was just as good as the previous one (or the 7-8 before that). The standard of cleanliness and service at the hotel were exceptional. The ambience of the hotel is stunning, it's such a relaxing place to unwind, the guest lounge is worth the price of admission alone. The service we received at breakfast was top notch as well - the ladies at breakfast are wonderful, and everyone that works at the hotel are always ready with a greeting. You will struggle to find a better place to stay than this one in the hunter. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monterey_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam S, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Hi Monterey_Traveller,
It's so lovely to read that you are a regular guest with us and yet again another brilliant review. We strive so hard to make sure every guest experience is memorable so we are thrilled to read we achieve this time and time again. Your wonderful comments have been passed onto the breakfast team. Thanks again for the amazing review and we look forward to seeing you again. Have a great New Year's.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Even in a Hotel charging $200 a night, you should at least have housekeeping clean the bathroom and an empty the bin and replenish supplies such as tissues.
Let alone when you pay $480 for a night and $580 for the other night.
All that was done is a doona thrown back over the bed and replacement of 2 towels.
Maybe housekeeping witnessed a clean organised room and thought, ah no need to spend more than 2 minutes on this one.
I won't complain about the room being very hot because there is not much you can do with an older style building that has character but at least service the room properly.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VEM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam S, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have set procedures for housekeeping and regret to read that you did not experience our high level of services. We strive for housekeeping excellence so appreciate the feedback and will follow up with the department manager.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
5.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
13.1 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
263 reviews
7.9 km away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $144 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing