We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“A great stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. We stayed for one night, and really enjoyed the nature and the sorroundings. We´re from Sweden and having wild kangaroos jumping around just outside our room, while we were sipping on some wine on the patio, was amazing and extremely exotic!

We really enjoyed the room (except the noise from a fight next door during the night) and can definitly recommend it!

The one thing we did not enjoy was the breakfast. Dirty plates, fruit fly´s swimming in the youghurt, and we would have prefered if it was a little bit more "continental".

But over all, a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Google Translation
Mange tak for your great feedback.. Vi är en dansk familj här i Hunter Valley. Hoppas en dag kommer du tillbaka downunder att se oss again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    228
    119
    64
    50
See reviews for
125
399
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had a very friendly welcome which continued with all the staff. Nathan and Wayne in the wine cellar were both informative and welcoming.Great sense of humour.
The room was very comfortable - we had 2 nights there and couldn't believe our eyes when we pulled back the curtains our first morning to be greeted by the neighbours - a herd or pack of kangeroos! Magical.
We also had 2 very good meals in the restaurant. We found the service in the cafe a bit haphazard but perhaps we coincided with a party arriving.
All in all we had a good stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your great feedback.. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Spent two night here as my son was getting married at the resort. Every second person including the groom and my husband (the father of the groom) ended up in the bathroom all night as one of the entrees served must have been off. The rooms were overpriced for what they were but we stayed there because the wedding was there. The shower rails and vanities were all rusted. The shower curtain was dirty as was the room. The furniture was old and desperately needed refurbishing. The restaurant on site for breakfast was only adequate and the San Martino restaurant at night had limited selections. If you are thinking about staying at the Hunter Valley stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over a weekend with my parents in two Vineyard rooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious. The room service team didn't make the bed in the morning in either of our rooms. The rooms were dark and could have done with brighter lighting. Aside from this the accommodation was fine. The restaurant, however, is a different story. It was terrible. We ordered chips with aioli, which tasted like milk without a hint of garlic, and wedges which arrived luke warm. We also ordered a pizza which took 40 minutes to arrive and when it did was charred coal-black on the bottom and totally indelible. My father brought it back to the counter and the manager immediately refunded us but didn't look surprised and didn't apologise. We had planned to have dinner in the restaurant but after this decided not to. Two other tables also asked for refunds while we were there. The booking also covered a "winery tour". The tour guide on this was excellent but the tour itself was actually of a long-disused ex-winery which was filthy and had a dead cat in the machinery. It was rather disappointing. We ended up doing a proper winery tour elsewhere in the Hunter. So overall adequate rooms but everything else was disappointing.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank geeinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback... We have investigated the day you were here - and the chef on duty that day is no longer with us. Needless to say, you were not the only comments we received. Please come back and enjoy the experience as it should have been for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We just recently had our wedding at the Hunter Resort.
After all the rain in february i was terrified it would rain for me on our day. We had the wedding outside behind the accomodation. Just Beautiful, the staff did a fantastic job making sure the area was well maintained and looking fabulous for the photos. Didnt rain, beautiful day.
The staff from the very beginning were very helpful. Jan and the team did a fantastic job of organsing my cocktail style wedding. The room was set up just beautifully. (they had no problems moving funiture and changing everything around to how i wanted it to be set out).
Food was delicious, no one complained about being hungry. We danced all night, had a ball. All our guests stayed in the accomodation. No one had any complaints, rooms were lovely.
Overall experience..EXCELLENT.. will recommend to everyone, and definately will be staying at Hunter Resort next time we are up there.
If you are looking for a cocktail style reception, the Hermitage room is perfect for this.

Room Tip: Vineyard room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your great feedback.. Our crew really try to go that extra mile. Great to hear the day was perfect for you both. Hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

had my wedding there and stayed the night
didnt find the staff helpful at all

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Hello Karen - Thank you for your honesty. Can you please let me have some more feedback. Our crew have been receiving really good comments, and I am keen to understand what went wrong?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Pulled back the curtains when we woke up to see Kangaroo and baby eating right outside our room...

This place is our Hunter Valley favourite. Beds are simply amazing! Best sleep ever.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandAonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your great feedback.. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
9.9 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.3 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.5 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.2 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.9 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#13 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing