We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thistle Hill Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

What an amazing little BnB. Rooms are beautiful and very clean and Carol is the most welcoming, accommodating host. This is the ideal place to come and chill out and relax - the property has beautiful grounds. We enjoyed the tastiest breakfast - different from your standard cereals etc; everything here is homemade. Great location to visit the Hunter Vally and Pokolbin. Would stay here time and time again, no matter what time of year.

Room Tip: If you are driving along Broke Rd look out for Hermitage Rd - it's about halfway down, five minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
227
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowen, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stumbled across Thistle Hill and spent a night there while passing, too quickly, through the Hunter. I am fussy and don't take review writing lightly but Thistle Hill was a delightful find, all the accolades I've read in other reviews are well earned. The setting is beautiful, the rooms charming and so clean and fresh. The grounds are beautifully maintained and make for a pleasant stroll.
Breakfast is another area where the host have gone the extra distance, beautifully presented, with linen napkins, a perfect start to the day.
Well done Carol and Peter, Thistle Hill is a credit to you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

After a few hectic weeks at work we were looking forward to a romantic getaway in Hunter Valley for our 1st year anniversary! As we arrived just after 9pm, we made our way to our guestroom and were greeted by our lovely host Carol along the way, the room was beautifully furnished and smelt wonderful and our bottle of wine and cheese platter went down a treat. We woke up in the morning and wandered down through the beautiful gardens to the pool room where breakfast was served and oh my goodness....what a feast! Fruit salads, mini apple crumbles(which were to die for), stewed fruits, yoghurt, an array of breakfast cereals, bircher muslie, crossaints, muffins, coffee, hot chocolate, assortment of teas, juices... you name it, it was there. Carol is an fantastic cook and nothing is ever to much of an ask! After breakfast we asked Carol to suggest which wineries or places to visit and Peter came to the rescue, he mapped out for us where to go, where to have lunch etc which was so helpful! And every day we got back, our bed was made and room tidy again.

All in all this place is definately value for money, considering you are in the heart of the hunter valley and you are a stone throw away from a big range of wineries and restaurants. The property is gorgeous, the hosts are very hospitable and lovely, rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean and the breakfast as i mentioned earlier was AMAZING! The only little thing was my husband was a little sad about was that there were no bacon and eggs. Its the little things that make this place even more special such a freshly ground coffee and plunger in your room, fresh milk and cold water every day, the cheese plate and bottle of wine.

Thank you Carol and Peter for your hospitality, we will be back for sure. Hopefully next time i can meet your resident kangaroo.

Kind Regards,

Dale and Hayley Clarke

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The location, ambience and service provided to my wife and I for 2 nights at this country boutique B&B was fantastic - highly recommended if visiting Pokolbin and Hunter Valley

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giseke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKG
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed two nights just before Christmas at the Thistle Hill.  A very clean and beautiful resort set in a tranquil environment.  It’s in Polkobin which Carol, the very nice and helpful owner lady explained is the oldest wine region within Hunter Valley.  We had considered Lovedale but glad we decided on Polkobin as our base.  There are more than enough wineries to visit in 3 days, all within 15mins drive from Thistle Hill.  The resort is beautiful, massive and very well maintained.  Our room (I think it was room#3) was nicely appointed with a lot of attention paid to details.  The bathroom was spotlessly clean.  I would like to say it felt like home though our home wasn’t even as clean!  We were their last and only guests before X’mas, and to be honest it was a bit quiet at first for us but their house cat Charlie kept us company!  We thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary white wine, dessert wine and the cheese platter provided when we checked into the room.  Carol was very nice, helpful and hospitable and there aren’t enough words to explain our gratitude.  She gave excellent recommendations on where to go and where to eat, and helped us make arrangements.  It was a quiet time of the year (apparently people go there more over New Year’s), so a few places either were not open or closed early but we enjoyed the trip nonetheless.  It’s a shame we didn’t get to meet Peter but am sure we will be back soon.
 
Must eat: Café Enzo’s linguine.  Recommended by Carol and we absolutely loved it.  Botanica also was very good.
Must visit: 1) Mistletoe winery.  The label and the name don’t do the wines justice.  Very high quality wines!  2) David Hook wines were very tasty and we bought them from the DH shop next to Café Enzo.  3) Personally I think Tyrrell’s got the most beautiful property of all I visited.  4) Peterson House has a very cute setup, and I love how it says everywhere “Life is flat without bubbles”.  Go there if sparkling wine is your thing.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

After a 3 week Christmas break with family in Sydney, our 3 nights spent at Carol and Peter's countryside retreat was pure bliss. We were welcomed by Carol and Charlie the cat and shown to our very spacious and wonderfully decorated room. Once unpacked we were delighted to find a lovely bottle of Semillon in the fridge from the local vineyard as well as a freshly prepared cheese platter. We sat on our veranda listening to all the sounds of the local wildlife and enjoyed the local delicacies!
Carol then booked us on a wine tour for the following day and we enjoyed a very relaxing, peaceful nights sleep. The rest of our trip consisted of wonderful homemade breakfasts made by Carol, delicious wines and cheeses and a haven to return to everyday in the form of Thistle Hill. Carol even gave me some fantastic ideas for our forthcoming wedding!! What a wonderful stay....we cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AmyW82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Met by Charlie (the cat) as the host & hostess were away in Sydney. We never did meet the elusive host but were assured he did exist!
A secluded corner room very tastefully decorated and most comfortable to return to after a full day out in the valley and beyond.
Attractive grounds that virtually demanded a daily walk around the vineyard and forrest and be closely monitored at an arms' length by kangaroos and birdlife.
Breakfasts were simply to die for with a "surprise" dish brought out each morning that made it almost imposible to leave each morning!
Daily excusions around the valley and to Newcastle made even more enjoyable knowing that we had a "home" to come back to and relax - more so with a bottle or two of the superb "house wine" available.
Not to be missed attactions must definately include the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens - 60 acres of sheer paradise and worthy of at least half a day to explore the many themed areas of the park.
Quality dining readily available within a 10 minute walk or 15 minute drive.
One cannot close without a mention of the gracious hostess who ensured our stay was extra special with tips on what to see and do and even a picnic basket that tickled our senses!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.5 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
12.6 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.3 km away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
7.2 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
8.2 km away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hill Guest House

Property: Thistle Hill Guest House
Address: 591 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thistle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hill Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing