We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
Stunning views at Block Eight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views at Block Eight
Three bedroom guest house sleeps six adults Open plan living with log fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Stunning views at Block Eight
Three bedroom guest house sleeps six adults
Open plan living with log fire
Large dining table with beautiful views
Fully equipped kitchen
Last master bedroom with ensuite
Master ensuite
Queen size bedroom
Relax by the large dam at Block Eight
Help yourself to fresh organic vegetables
Fresh eggs delivered daily
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liza K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the 3rd time we have stayed in the Guest House within the last 12 months. Our first two stays were for 2 nights and our last stay in September was for 7 nights and we still felt it was not long enough.

This place is a little secret paradise sanctuary!
The property is breathtakingly beautiful, accommodation is gorgeous and very homely. The owners of the property ( Todd and Jeff) are wonderful people and have added the fine touches to make the experience a perfect relaxing holiday. My Mum, Sister and I enjoyed the following inclusions, breakfast: bacon with organic eggs, (laid by their chooks) muffins, toast, cereal, milk, orange Juice, home made jams, cheese plate with their award winning wines as well as home made delicious biscuits.

The guest house has beautiful light streaming into the living area during the day and the views are breathtaking from every room. There is a fire place and also reverse cycle air-conditioning. We loved picking salad and herbs from the organic garden, visiting the pigs and chickens and enjoyed beautiful walks around the vineyards, watching the Australian wildlife living in bliss on the acres of land. We relaxed in the house, watched a few DVD's and read books from their library. It's the perfect getaway to escape the hustle and bustle of Sydney or from anywhere you live. The property is close to the Vintage golf course, weekend markets and only 12 minutes drive from the centre of the Hunter Valley's "Broke Road" which has a stretch of shops, wineries and restaurants.
You won't find a better place to stay in the Hunter Valley than Block Eight. We are looking forward to another 7 nights stay early next year.
Thanks Todd and Jeff for opening up your home so we can enjoy your stunning property and Thank you for the special private wine tasting you put on for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajohnston...
Cusco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect stay in the Hunter”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for two nights in the Orchard View Villa. It was absolutely beautiful - spacious, light and airy, beautifully furnished and a lovely view across the property. We loved the wine and cheese on the first night and the breakfast supplies were just perfect. Also loved strolling the property, with the pigs, chickens and kangaroos! Every little thing has been thoughtfully included, from fresh robes to beautiful candles. It was the perfect luxurious weekend escape. We didn't want to leave, we wanted to move in for good!! We will 100% be back - love to use the combustion fire in the cooler months.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rulip
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our Hunter Home”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Orchard Villa is a spacious, tastefully decorated studio for two. Loved the home made biscuits and breakfast treats

Perfect from the moment we entered the drive and were greeted by nonchalant kangaroos lounging in the olive grove. There are chooks and pigs to chat too, vineyards to walk through and a well equipped villa to lounge around in.

We were so chilled and relaxed after three nights.

Recommend the butcher in Branxton for barbecue options, very good. Quality.

Todd and Jeff's recommendations for wineries and restaurants were great too.

Loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall feel of the place and privacy
Liked least: Nothing, it was all good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prue G
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful & relaxing stay in the Barrington View villa”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed two nights in the Barrington View villa which had the most uninterrupted views of the property and lake. You could see the house and other villas but this was never an issue. Inside there was so much attention to detail- beautiful soaps and candles, homemade goodies, luxurious furniture.. The villa is perfect to spend a few nights relaxing and simply taking in the scenery. We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewels68x
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had such a magical weekend at this beautiful location! My sister and myself meet our parents there for a little R & R... What a treat! We stayed in the beautifully decorated guest house and we're delighted by the many additional treasure left by the owners. Fresh bacon, eggs, milk, juice and biscuits to name a few. Along with the fantastic veggie garden, which guests can use, we had little need for anything else. Only wish we had booked a longer stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Slow wifi
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibel S
2 reviews
“Pefect little place for a getaway in the Hunter Valley”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A beautiful cosy villa on a great property. It's so private it feels as though you are the one there. The hamper on arrival including wines, an afternoon snack and breakfast was the perfect touch. Would definitely stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAM1417
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Last weekend I was lucky enough to spend a couple of nights at the Block Eight guest house with a few friends. Having read some great reviews on trip advisor, we were all looking forward to arriving and seeing the place for ourselves. We certainly were not disappointed. The location was incredibly beautiful, the house was just perfect and Todd and Jeff kick started our weekend with a private wine tasting! The wine was so delicious we all bought some to take home! With a breakfast hamper included (the fresh eggs from chickens on the property are so tasty!) and some cold wine in the fridge waiting for you, this place really sets the scene for a fantastic Hunter experience.

I would highly recommend Block Eight to everyone, I know I will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail, everything has been thought of!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;