We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“incredible perfect Hunter Valley get away”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and terrace area of Villa 1.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and terrace area of Villa 1.
The main driveway up to Mandalay Villas The main driveway where our friendly Buddha is ready to greet every guest.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Pool and terrace area of Villa 1.
The main driveway up to Mandalay Villas
The main driveway where our friendly Buddha is ready to greet every guest.
Sunset over the Brokenback Mountain range
The spa bath of Villa No.1 looking out to the bush
Shower and toilet cubicles divided by the bathroom's vanity unit.
The fully fitted kitchen, with fridge, microwave, cooker, coffee machine and  eating utensils.
Entrance looking toward the living area of Villa 1.
View from terrace into living area and bedroom of Villa 1.
One of the villas lit by a full moon and the pool lights.
Stunning landscapes and views across to the mountain range.
A mother and child having their breakfast beside one of the villas.
Bicycles are provided at Mandalay Villas.
Guests enjoying a tipple by the fire pit.
Dawn sun washes over the main house.
A couple of bottles of what makes the Hunter Valley particularly appealing to guests.
Separate accessible bathroom.
Entrance hall to Villa 2.
Shower to the left and loo to the right in Villa 2
Double spa bath in Villa 2.
Main living area in Villa 1 with views out to the pool.
Dining area of Villa 2 with views out to the pool, and garden beyond.
Fully-equipped kitchen in Villa 2.
Comfy queen size bed in sleeping area of Villa 2.
Living area in Villa 2 with view out to pool.
Pool and terrace area of Villa 2.
Trail riding in the Congewai Valley.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pokolbin, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katrina H
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“incredible perfect Hunter Valley get away”
Reviewed March 23, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Having stayed at a few of the hotels in Pokolbin i was looking for something nicer and was prepared to search further a field to find it , this is it !, perfect for couples the secluded villas and their private pools offer everything you need for the Hunter Valley get away, i was a little concerned about being far away from the main wineries but it really isn't that far, only ten minutes and your at Roche etc. The villa was beautifully presented and we didn't mind that there was no foxtel or wifi., sitting by the pool was much nicer !. Breakfast is all sorted with bacon eggs cereal bread etc which was a pleasant surprise. We were amazed at the water pressure the shower had considering its on tank water ! , the hosts were just a call away and were very flexible with our needs. i couldn't recommend this place enough and will be returning as often as possible !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2018
Thank you Katrina, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come and see us again. Best regards, Simon & Toni.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoagsW
Lake Munmorah
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sooo relaxing and perfect holiday”
Reviewed January 18, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Mandalay Villas are the perfect place to relax and unwind, pity we had to go home
Everything has been thought of in the villas, everything you need is there
A great relaxing quiet holiday, just lazing around the pool
Thank you Simon and Toni

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2018
Thank you, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again. Best wishes, Simon & Toni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
701mirna
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Weekend Away”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had an absolute blast at the Mandalay Villas. Simon and Toni were great hosts, with great recommendations for both Vineyards and food locations. Very helpful and willing to provide additionals such as bikes, and a horse ride!
Would most definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Many thanks Mirna and Andrew, it was our pleasure to make your stay so enjoyable. We hope to see you both again.
Simon & Toni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pananiaj2...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our stay at Mandalay Villas was superb.
Our hosts Toni and Simon provided us with such a charming country experience that we’ll definitely be back. The rural setting is so peaceful and picturesque, but the villa itself is spacious and modern with a cheery wood burning fireplace.

It was the perfect starting point for a tour of the local wineries and a great place to come back to and enjoy our wines and a great dinner. The next day we just relaxed and soaked up the country atmosphere.

Loved it !

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you, Jim.
Come back and visit us again.
All the very best, Simon & Toni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnalisaM...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

After two decades of regularly visiting the Hunter, we happened to take a chance on accommodation away from the mainstream. So glad we did as Mandalay was the best find. Ten minute drive to Cessnock and not much more to main Hunter region. We have always looked for that special place and until now, have never found it. We will always book at Mandalay. Simon and Toni are the perfect hosts, so accommodating and welcoming and the property is quiet and serene. This is our home away from home. More than highly recommend the experience and stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardo1...
oz
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply perfect, wonderful location, great villa, & even better hosts....will return”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We booked Mandalay due to most places being full for Bruce concert, lucky us!! Rover coach pick up for concert, at nice pub, is only 2 mins away; plenty of the best vineyards & eateries are within easy reach, so location was great. Villa2 itself was clean, modern & equipped with everything, could seriously live here ;) ....and the private heated pool, with jets, was great for a refresh & muscle massage. The breakfast provided was top notch, but the "best value" was provided by hosts Toni & Simon......great people with a wonderful property, we'll be back for sure ....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmwman995
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Second excellent visit”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Almost a year to the day we made it back from the other side of the world.
Mandalay and Villa 2 was just as brilliant as the last time.
44 degrees on the weekend and we were SO pleased we had a private pool to dip in and out of.
If you are thinking of accommodation in the Hunter then you definitely MUST give these Villas try.
Thanks Simon & Toni for being brilliant hosts again.
Excellent in every sense.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Thank you, Ken and Angela. It was our pleasure to host you again. We will always remember the Semillon you introduced us to. Please make it three in a row. Roll on 2018. Best regards Simon & Toni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing