We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
260
248
113
31
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
248
113
31
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panthers club shopping centre the river pool area across the road settlement city restaurant staff two single beds renovated room water view beautiful pool buffet breakfast reception staff mini bar family room nice stay the gold coast
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 686 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2018

Standard Room with good size room .Bathroom smallish for 4.5 rating? all the usual appointments.Car park view Dinning Room Staff attentive to request BUT main course was RAW meat As in RED RAW .Was not asked how we would like it cooked ? All this including breakfast for $330 + surcharge. never again !

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travel4263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGMofSails, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Dear Travel4263,

Thank you for your review of Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges.

We apologize we didn’t meet your expectation on size of bathroom and fell short on food quality in or new restaurant venue. All reviews are shared with the team and followed up to continually improve our offer and ensure we present a great product to our guests.

If travelling to Port Macquarie again, please contact the resort prior so i can make amends and ensure an improved experience for you.

Kind Regards,

Nick McLaughlin
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

Just by going by the tittle. It is a real pleasure staying here. I have watched over the last 2 and a half years this hotel go through an unbelievable transformation. Every single room whether upstairs or downstairs is complete luxury. From the King Sized A H Beard special beds to the amazing features these rooms have.
The TV is a flat screen wide decent sized and modern enough to do mirror imaging from your mobile phone. So netflix and Stan is a doddle. Also there is a built in media player when u open up the desk hutch underneath th TV. U can plug all hard drives with movies into it. The rooms are so spacey with a couch in and a seperate desk if your inclined to do some work. A well stocked see through bar fridge and also lots of snax and lollys and even games from the mini bar. The Bathroom is beautifully finished and has a massive shower rose. You can order in room service or wander down to the new restaurant and eat facing the water views.

An overall really easing experience staying here. The customer service is outstanding. From arriving to leaving.

Highly recommend staying here.

Thanks Anastasia for the SUPERB customer service at Reception. Thanks Lisa for the outstanding customer service in the restaurant at breakfast.

Cant wait to come back.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Sulky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGMofSails, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Dear Sulky2014,

Thank you for your review of Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges.

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a long road with construction occurring over the last few years but we are so proud of the resort product we now have on offer. We agree the beds are sensational and the modern amenities in the room complete the whole package.

Thank you for pointing out the superb service from our staff members Lisa and Anastasia - they are both valued members of the team and consistently receive great reviews from our guests.

It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to beautiful Port Macquarie.

Kind Regards,

Nick McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here mid week. Gorgeous spot, glorious view from our poolside room. Pool itself is heated and was a joy to swim in even at this time of year. Staff very helpful and attentive. Had dinner in the restaurant on the first night. Beautiful food, friendly service

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGMofSails, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2018

Dear Jocelyn D,

Thank you for your review of Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges.

We love reading that you enjoyed our heated pool, gorgeous location and views, and friendly service and food from the Boathouse Bar & Restaurant. Our team members are very proud of the Resort, especially now that we're fully out of construction, so I will be sure to post this review and congratulate the staff on their hard work to make your stay enjoyable.

We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to the Mid North Coast.

Kind Regards,

Nick McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

We were here for a friends wedding. She was reassured before she booked that the venue would be ready only to be contacted weeks before her wedding day that it wouldn’t be complete. The hotel was a Work site. It was dangerous to be in, there was dust, dirt and scaffolding everywhere. Staff were non existent. Wifi and breakfast were not included. There was no lift and not option for help with bags. After recently having surgery I couldn’t lift anything over 5kgs so my partner was forced to carry our bags (no one offered to help either). Our room was all they way on the other side of the hotel. We opted for a suite with water views.. it was tiny. We barely had space to move. My friend was told she would get the honeymoon suite for her wedding night but was told in the weeks before the wedding that it had already been booked out (seriously?!?!). Before the ceremony it had rained, I had to fetch staff to come and wipe down the seats for guests as the guests were left to do it themselves. Room service was not collected and was still outside rooms from the night before (this was at 4pm the next day-it was the same plates of food). Waitstaff were nice but the prepaid bottles of wine were removed from each table only to be put behind the bar and sold to guests by the glass. Drinks that were supposed to be part of the drinks package were refused upon request and items from the centre pieces on the tables were removed by waitstaff, never to be seen again. Staff were so unorganised and rude. During check out we were told one after the other (there was a queue) that our cards were all declined, that it was our own fault and they would accept cash only. We refused and insisted the fault was on their end only to be answered with nasty glances and huffing and puffing from reception staff. I am absolutely appalled by this hotel and their treatment of guests. Never ever will I ever recommend this hotel to anyone. You should be ashamed!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank katelucyrachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGMofSails, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear katelucyrachael,

We appreciate the emotion involved when a property under construction guarantees dates and spaces will be available to guests, and they need to be altered due to building delays. Unfortunately these delays were out of our control. We had meetings with the effected couple very early in the process to communicate and update that certain areas which were on schedule to be finished, would unfortunately not be complete.

As this review is 2 months (to the date) from the wedding that took place it will take some time to review the other service concerns but please accept my apology. When emotions run high, small issues that are and were quickly resolved can become blown out of proportion.

As you can see our reviews are quite positive and show that we have a beautiful property (even when in construction) and we provide genuine service for our guests.

We do apologize and hope you enjoy the property now out of renovations.

Regards,

Nick McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on a road trip from Noosa to Sydney. It’s absolutely lovely and we wished we could stay longer. Beautiful and convenient location, right between the picturesque river, and a shopping centre. Plenty of great places to eat nearby too, we didn’t try the restaurant. The hotel is just finishing their refurbishment, and they’ve done a lovely job.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank agraham88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGMofSails, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear agraham88,

Thank you for your review of Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges.

We're very pleased to read you enjoyed the resort as we are putting the finishing touches on the building and entry. We agree our location is extremely convenient and hope you will join us in our restaurant next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sails Port Macquarie on your next visit to this beautiful region.

Kind Regards,

Nick McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews