We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little spot of local history ”

Port Macquarie Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

A small and interesting collection of local history in Port Macquarie. Take the riverside stroll and wander into the museum for a look into the past. Its small but quite enjoyable.

Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, Volunteer Curator at Port Macquarie Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Our museum looks small from the outside but has 14 rooms and galleries with over 2000 objects on display. Centrally located in Clarence Street in Port Macquarie's CBD our State Heritage listed painted red building is hard to miss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local history"
in 9 reviews
"extensive collection"
in 3 reviews
"fascinating displays"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 11 reviews
"five dollars"
in 2 reviews
"different eras"
in 2 reviews
"historical items"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 6 reviews
"step back in time"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 5 reviews
"small cost"
in 2 reviews
"entry fee"
in 4 reviews
"behind the counter"
in 2 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 15 reviews
"port"
in 16 reviews
"settlement"
in 8 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2018

The Port Macquarie Museum would be the best museum l have visited in a long time. The artefacts they have are unbelievable and displayed so magically. It's a credit to the Management and all the volunteers who work tirelessly and are so proud of it all. It's a must to see.

Thank jennifersusan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, Volunteer Curator at Port Macquarie Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you so much for your great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We are very proud of our museum, our collections, our exhibitions and our people, all of whom are volunteers. We have a very large collection and change our exhibitions regularly. Hope you can visit us again when you are next in Port.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018

A very well presented, compact and interesting museum. Friendly guides happy to answer your questions. Whilst it looks modest from the street, it is quite extensive and occupies a number of rooms with much information about the history of Port Macquarie. Right in the centre of the city and across the road from the old Courthouse. A small entry fee applies but it is worth it for both adults and children.

Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, Curator at Port Macquarie Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Thanks Grant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Our building does look small from the outside, but comprises 14 rooms and galleries. We are proud of the work our team does in telling Port Macquarie's special stories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

This little museum, is just truely a special place. Being born in This town Ive always had a bound with our special History. Visiting PMQ you really need to take this journey back through time. You will walk out if not already in love with PMQ, you certainly will be,also a total new respect for our beautiful yet hard history books. The Volenteers that work there are very insightful, and their knowledge of PMQ is amazing.
When in town next do yourself a favour and take a step back in time.

1  Thank gailv68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2018

I loved this place as a child and now my kids loved it too! Worth the small cover charge, very well preserved pieces and very knowledgable staff.

1  Thank Lochness T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Macquarie Museum also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Port Macquarie Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing