We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for your Manning Valley stay, not so off the beaten track!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artisans On The Hill
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We took advantage of a Groupon deal on our trip throughout the North Coast of New South Wales. We were also very curious about Artisans on the Hill and their business model. From our perspective, it worked very well for us. The added bonus of being a short distance from Taree in the green hinterland was actually better than I even thought it could be. Artisans on the Hill is located near the town of Tinonee and overlooks Taree from the cafe. This complex is the home of hosts Christine and Peter, with adjoining private accommodation of three suites. One is self contained with ensuite, while the other two access a shared bathroom. There is also a common area providing access to a kitchenette with fridge, tea and coffee etc. A spacious workshop area is located behind the accommodation buildings and that’s where the passion is unleashed in a huge range of classes taught by Christine and Peter and other guest artisans. Peter and Christine are very welcoming and friendly and we felt ‘at home’ very quickly, which is just as well as the couple also invite you to share their living space (common area) which is a cafe by day and their living room at night. While this certainly is a little unusual, it actually works very well and on one particular night we met a number of artisans, elating after one of the workshops, who all had very interesting stories. The rooms don’t have their own TV’s, but the main living area has a flat screen for your viewing pleasure. While on technology, they have an awesome Wi Fi connection - best we’ve found on our North Coast holiday so far - never let us down once.
We stayed in the Huon suite and it was well presented spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The suite even has a vibrating bed which was initially quite novel.

My travelling companion even took up the option of taking some instruction in working with Precious Metal Clay.

Staying here, you could very easily get used to chilling out and doing your own thing or just do nothing but relax. We stayed two nights, but that is not enough if you want to explore the area called the Manning River Valley.

Others reviewers have positively commented on the cafe and if you wish, you can even have an evening meal with your hosts for a modest surcharge. Otherwise you will need to head towards Taree for dinner. That’s about a twelve minute drive, so the convenience of ‘dining in’ may really suit. We weren’t sure about how it would play out Staying at Artisans, but very glad we did on so many levels. Go on Artisans website to see what you could do while you’re there. A great ‘de-stress’ destination.

If you’re in the area and not staying at Artisans, visit the cafe and Gallery. There are some very good pieces representing the work of local artisans.

Room Tip: Huon suite if you want your own bathroom facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Orsome_Worlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our accommodation was very nice - we stayed in the myrtle room. We had a conjoining bathroom with the people next door, I liked that we had 2 sinks and also 2 separate rooms for the toilet and shower. The owners are very friendly and helpful when it came to what to see and do as we had done little planning. You can definitely still enjoy yourself if you're not an arty type like myself. Also there is free wifi so that is always a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashryanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent two nights at Artisans on the Hill and it is a beautiful place. Our hosts Peter and Christine were warm, friendly and amazingly accommodating. They have an amazing knowledge of the area and helped us plan a great day of outings, introduced us to come amazing people and even recommended one of the most fantastic restaurants we've eaten at. An absolutely wonderful place to stay with absolutely wonderful people.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clairefmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Definitely the place to stay if you want to foster you creative side. I stayed for 2 nights last week and booked in to do the fused glass class which is a full day class. Other classes are also on offer so check their website! Peter and Christine are wonderful hosts making everyone feel very comfortable and part of the family. The B & B is situated on a hill overlooking beautiful countryside and only a short drive from the quaint town of Wingham and just a bit further to Taree. The cooked breakfasts were great, and as I was on my own, I also joined my hosts for dinner (an amazing risotto one night and a BBQ the next). Even if you are not interested in joining a class, Artisans on the Hill is a terrific base from which to explore this lovely area.

Room Tip: The Huon room has an ensuite while the other 2 rooms have a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindasGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stopped overnight on our way to Brisbane for Christmas and was so glad we booked this place. Peter & Christine were most welcome especially after a long day of driving from Melb. Our pet, Frank (pug) instantly took a liking to the accommodation, as did we. Our room was very spacious and bed very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble and we really appreciated the time Peter gave us in getting to know us. His enthusiam for all things art related was amazing. Definately worth visiting the gallery and seeing some unique Australian art pieces. The workshops offered at Artisans On The Hill are nothing short of inspiring, only wished we had time to book into one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prlanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabrias, Owner at Artisans On The Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. It certainly makes us feel as though we are achieving our goals here at Artisans on the hill. We enjoyed your brief stay, including Frank, who was quite adorable, and look forward to your return visit one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We've had 2 great stays in the past 2 weeks whilst travelling. Peter and Christine are excellent and interesting hosts, and the site of the B&B is wonderful. Set high on a hill, facing east it catches a great breeze. It's about 10 minutes off the highway in a nice quiet spot.

On our first stay we were in the myrtle room, a queen bed room which shares a bathroom with another room. For our second stay we were in the huron room, with a king sized bed and our own bathroom. Both air conditioned rooms were very clean and comfortable, with windows out to the south.

Peter and Christine let you come and go as you please, but are generous with their advice of where to go and what to see. But also showing you what they do - their woodwork, craft, gallery etc, which is all fascinating. They're quite happy to give you demonstrations of this too.

You can have meals there too. We chose to have our dinners in local restaurants (both recommended by Christine) and have our breakfasts at Artisans. The latter meals were great; Peter makes fabulous pancakes, eggs, bacon etc. Meals were tasty and generous.

This is a good base for exploring the local area, including Ellenborough Falls, Taree, Wingham etc; there's plenty of history around. And for nature lovers there are plenty of birds at Artisans and koalas nearby. We expect to stay here again and have already recommended to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjbMirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabrias, Owner at Artisans On The Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. We, at Artisans on the hill, are always pleased when guests enjoy their stay with us, but also take the time to explore our beautiful valley. We are glad that you used our Bed & Breakfast + to its fullest extent and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As I travel a lot for work, it was great to find a place where the hospitality was sincere, the home cooked meal was delicious and the genuineness of the enthusiasm for the local area was infectious!
Peter and Christine were amazingly gracious and full of knowledge about the items in their amazing gallery. The offerings through their artisan workshops and classes was extensive and I would encourage anyone with a drop of creativity flowing through their veins to drop by their website and take a look.
I absolutely would recommend Artisans as a great place to drop in and stay for a night or two.

Room Tip: All rooms are peaceful and roomy, you cannot go wrong really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taree hotels
6.8 km away
Crescent Motel
Crescent Motel
#1 of 15 in Taree
372 reviews
9.2 km away
Riverview Motor Inn
Riverview Motor Inn
#11 of 15 in Taree
142 reviews
6.5 km away
Comfort Inn Marco Polo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
A Railway Lodge Motel
A Railway Lodge Motel
#12 of 15 in Taree
42 reviews
7.9 km away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Taree
6.2 km away
Taree Country Motel
Taree Country Motel
#9 of 15 in Taree
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisans On The Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisans On The Hill

Address: 702 Tinonee Rd, Taree, New South Wales 2430, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Taree
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Taree
Price Range: $147 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisans ...on the Hill is Completely Different! Five spacious, air-conditioned rooms, with four bathrooms. Fully self-contained accommodation or catered meals available. Amazing Gallery with pieces from some of Australia's best artisans. Relaxing Coffee Lounge to enjoy home cooked delights while taking in the expansive views of the Manning Valley. Large, purpose built workshop where we will teach you to make your own masterpieces in wood, glass, wax and even pure silver, or for your use! Add to this unique architecture, rural atmosphere, engaging hosts and easy access to the wonders of the Manning Valley - why would you not spend some time at Artisans ...on the Hill! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing