We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
41
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main living area wonderful hosts workshop gallery christine teacher creativity kite accommodation retreat veranda
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 48 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2014

Peter and Christine are incredibly welcoming and hospitable. Peter went out of his way to show us the artisan workshop and art pieces which was fascinating, and the home cooked meals were delicious around the family table. It was a beautiful setting to relax after a hectic day. Baron, our dog, loved exploring, and we even saw a koala as an added bonus.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JuAndKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2014

We took advantage of a Groupon deal on our trip throughout the North Coast of New South Wales. We were also very curious about Artisans on the Hill and their business model. From our perspective, it worked very well for us. The added bonus of being a short distance from Taree in the green hinterland was actually better than I even thought it could be. Artisans on the Hill is located near the town of Tinonee and overlooks Taree from the cafe. This complex is the home of hosts Christine and Peter, with adjoining private accommodation of three suites. One is self contained with ensuite, while the other two access a shared bathroom. There is also a common area providing access to a kitchenette with fridge, tea and coffee etc. A spacious workshop area is located behind the accommodation buildings and that’s where the passion is unleashed in a huge range of classes taught by Christine and Peter and other guest artisans. Peter and Christine are very welcoming and friendly and we felt ‘at home’ very quickly, which is just as well as the couple also invite you to share their living space (common area) which is a cafe by day and their living room at night. While this certainly is a little unusual, it actually works very well and on one particular night we met a number of artisans, elating after one of the workshops, who all had very interesting stories. The rooms don’t have their own TV’s, but the main living area has a flat screen for your viewing pleasure. While on technology, they have an awesome Wi Fi connection - best we’ve found on our North Coast holiday so far - never let us down once.
We stayed in the Huon suite and it was well presented spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The suite even has a vibrating bed which was initially quite novel.

My travelling companion even took up the option of taking some instruction in working with Precious Metal Clay.

Staying here, you could very easily get used to chilling out and doing your own thing or just do nothing but relax. We stayed two nights, but that is not enough if you want to explore the area called the Manning River Valley.

Others reviewers have positively commented on the cafe and if you wish, you can even have an evening meal with your hosts for a modest surcharge. Otherwise you will need to head towards Taree for dinner. That’s about a twelve minute drive, so the convenience of ‘dining in’ may really suit. We weren’t sure about how it would play out Staying at Artisans, but very glad we did on so many levels. Go on Artisans website to see what you could do while you’re there. A great ‘de-stress’ destination.

If you’re in the area and not staying at Artisans, visit the cafe and Gallery. There are some very good pieces representing the work of local artisans.

Room Tip: Huon suite if you want your own bathroom facilities.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Orsome_Worlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our accommodation was very nice - we stayed in the myrtle room. We had a conjoining bathroom with the people next door, I liked that we had 2 sinks and also 2 separate rooms for the toilet and shower. The owners are very friendly and helpful when it came to what to see and do as we had done little planning. You can definitely still enjoy yourself if you're not an arty type like myself. Also there is free wifi so that is always a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashryanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We spent two nights at Artisans on the Hill and it is a beautiful place. Our hosts Peter and Christine were warm, friendly and amazingly accommodating. They have an amazing knowledge of the area and helped us plan a great day of outings, introduced us to come amazing people and even recommended one of the most fantastic restaurants we've eaten at. An absolutely wonderful place to stay with absolutely wonderful people.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clairefmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Definitely the place to stay if you want to foster you creative side. I stayed for 2 nights last week and booked in to do the fused glass class which is a full day class. Other classes are also on offer so check their website! Peter and Christine are wonderful hosts making everyone feel very comfortable and part of the family. The B & B is situated on a hill overlooking beautiful countryside and only a short drive from the quaint town of Wingham and just a bit further to Taree. The cooked breakfasts were great, and as I was on my own, I also joined my hosts for dinner (an amazing risotto one night and a BBQ the next). Even if you are not interested in joining a class, Artisans on the Hill is a terrific base from which to explore this lovely area.

Room Tip: The Huon room has an ensuite while the other 2 rooms have a shared bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindasGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews