We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artisans On The Hill
Reviewed 19 January 2016

A bed & breakfast with a lot of charm where one can expect the unexpected. Very friendly and accommodating owners presenting comfortable and clean guest rooms. The gallery contains a number of very interesting pieces, including an impressive collection of impeccably finished bandsaw boxes.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

My stay at Artisans was purely spur of the moment as my credit card booking for a hotel in Taree didn't process and I was feeling a little jaded with motels and wanted to try something different.
In part - I was kinda checking it out for a possible distant future family trip.

It's a little out of Taree in the Manning Valley properly which could be a little off putting if you are needing to be in Taree for work or if you don't like a true shared accom BnB.
I was the only one staying at the time & Pete & Chris are fabulous hosts with many stories & experiences to share.
Facilities are great and there are so many craft and artisan courses they offer - it took me back to my childhood.
My only suggestion would be to put a lock on the bedroom doors to the hallway as if I was staying while others were there that would have been a little concerning for me

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabrias, Owner at Artisans On The Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Many thanks for your feedback Bridget. Christine and I hope to see you and your family again at Artisans.
I really must apologise for not giving you your room key when you arrived as the doors to all rooms are indeed lockable.
We now also have available to guests two additional bedrooms (making a total of five) as well as the large guest living area and kitchen. This means that guests can now be completely self sufficient should they choose to.
Of course Christine and I still offer the option of joining us for breakfasts and meals should you just want to relax.
Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed a walk through the gallery! Really beautiful artwork from some of the worlds most creative wood carvers! The hospitality was incredible! Food was simple, fresh, tasty, and made with love! Peter's chicken was mouthwatering. Thank you guys

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Dylan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

Last minute decision to check this place out while driving from Taree to Wingham & was very glad we did. The unique art & sculptures were amazing. Fantastic place for a coffee with an amazing view. Very relaxing atmosphere. Can't remember the man's name that showed the kids & I around but he was so friendly & welcoming. On my next visit to Wingham I definitely plan on visiting again.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank julieking369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Booked into a chair making workshop and stayed with Peter and Christine. Communication was excellent leading up to the stay. The room is spacious, very clean, extremely comfy bed, as well as great towels and pillows. The course I was doing here was inspirational. But what was just as amazing was the locals I got to meet as well. I now don't feel like a guest but as one of their friends. I can't recommend it highly enough either for a night or five days. Can't wait to come back. Come and do a course. You will NOT regret it.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

My friend Audrey & I stayed - on the first day we both did candle making. The next day Audrey was thrilled to learn wood turning & create a bowl which she was very proud of. Peter & Christine are such lovely people & a delight to meet & stay with. I can thoroughly recommend a visit here. Many thanks, Janene

Room Tip: All rooms are charming. We got the room with the king bed as it can be converted to 2 king singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janene52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Had the pleasure of spending a weekend here recently with my husband and friends.

Christine and Peter are fantastic hosts and the facilities were both lovely and clean.

The view from the cafe is lovely and photos do not do it justice.

Make sure you put aside time to go to Ellenborough Falls if you have time as they are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluedresses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taree hotels
6.8 km away
Crescent Motel
Crescent Motel
#1 of 15 in Taree
373 reviews
9.2 km away
Riverview Motor Inn
Riverview Motor Inn
#11 of 15 in Taree
142 reviews
6.5 km away
Comfort Inn Marco Polo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
A Railway Lodge Motel
A Railway Lodge Motel
#12 of 15 in Taree
42 reviews
7.9 km away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Taree
6.2 km away
Taree Country Motel
Taree Country Motel
#9 of 15 in Taree
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisans On The Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisans On The Hill

Address: 702 Tinonee Rd, Taree, New South Wales 2430, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Taree
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Taree
Price Range: $148 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisans ...on the Hill is Completely Different! Five spacious, air-conditioned rooms, with four bathrooms. Fully self-contained accommodation or catered meals available. Amazing Gallery with pieces from some of Australia's best artisans. Relaxing Coffee Lounge to enjoy home cooked delights while taking in the expansive views of the Manning Valley. Large, purpose built workshop where we will teach you to make your own masterpieces in wood, glass, wax and even pure silver, or for your use! Add to this unique architecture, rural atmosphere, engaging hosts and easy access to the wonders of the Manning Valley - why would you not spend some time at Artisans ...on the Hill! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing