We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“look forward to staying their again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“look forward to staying their again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

It was a weekend get away with friends .When we booked the hotel we were in aware that the football was on that weekend and the the Chifley was so close.Upon arrival the reception staff was excellent because their were four couples we asked if we could be close to each ,one couple even got an upgrade .The room were clean and comfortable and we thought T the first since the football was on it would be noisey but it wasn't .

We will be coming back here again .

Room Tip: ask for one with a balcony the view is unbelievable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear janelle12,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It was great learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and more specifically felt that the staff were excellent. Trust I will share your comments with the team.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and should you return, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    501
    206
    79
    47
See reviews for
226
527
43
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Batemans Bay
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed for 2 days, new hotel, well set out, beautiful suite with excellent facilities (but small towels our only gripe), outlook over golf course, excellent staff. Dined in restaurant and had best steak for ages, and beautiful breakfast. Recommend highly. We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Pick a room with balcony and view over golf course and coastline - rooms on end of building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willfish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Willfish101,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It was great learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you had a great meal at C Grill, I will be sure to share your comments with our Food & Beverage teams.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and should you return, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbelltown, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My Partner and I just spent two relaxing nights at the Chifley Wollongong. We had an 8th floor executive room with a king sized bed. The room was immaculate and the furnishings were modern and up to date. I could not fault the room in any way. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The champagne on arrival was a nice touch and I was expecting 'vinegar' but it was excellent. Breakfast in the C Grill was superb, with everything fresh and hot. Service staff were attentive, without being 'in our face'. I would highly recommend your hotel and we will definitely be back over and over again.

Room Tip: this hotel is close to several clubs and there are plenty of local eateries to try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Deb L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It was great learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and more specifically felt that the staff were friendly and helpful. I am also delighted to read the the staff were friendly and helpful, trust I will share your comments with the team.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and should you return, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong



Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Spent a couple of nights at the Chifley. Great hotel in Wollongong with very frendly staff. Check in was nice and easy, rooms very new and clean. Had breakfast in the restaurant on both mornings. The food was very well presented with good service. Hotel is located right on the beach and has easy access, also close to shops and WIN Satdium. Great hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: High floor will have views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your recent review.

It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and more specifically felt that the staff were friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Chifley Wollongong in the future.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Husband and I just spent a night at the chifley wollongong. We got a good deal and thought we would have a night away. Check in was easy and smooth. I thought we had booked a queen bed but there two singles in the room, it wasnt really a bother, we just pushed the beds together. We were on the 7th floor in an executive balcony room. The room was spacious and very clean. Its within easy walking distance of a couple of clubs and restaurants. The only weird thing with the room was that the power point for a mans shaver was on the other side of the room to the vanity. It was ok, he didnt bother to shave but I could imagine it might be a bother if you were staying a few nights and had to shave. The point for it was also located behind the door so you would have to shut the door to shave.

The absolute highlight of our stay was our breakfast. There was absolutely everything you could think of. Well presented and fresh. We walked out of there with full bellies.

The staff were a delight. If you were in a lift with a staff member they would smile and say hello. If we walked down the hall and a room was being cleaned the cleaner would make sure she said hello. The staff in the breakfast room were fantastic, we were called sir and mam and they were continually watching to take away your finished plate or to refill your cup with coffee or tea. It seemed that someone was always scouring the room to see if anyone wanted anything. Just fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodybelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Dear Jodybelinda,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your recent stay.

I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast in C Grill and that the team were able to add to a great experience. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team members.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and should you return to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Nice hotel. A bit generic and bland from a design perspective, but spacey, clean, polite & in a good spot. Will be better when you can get to the beach a bit more easily but highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmainite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We spent 3 nights in Wollongong and were delighted from the first instance when checking in to the Chifley. Our room was on the 10th floor and the balcony was facing the coast. Bed was very comfortable.Room was spacious, with a deep full size bath.Staff were very friendly. The only negative was the lifts. They were very slow but it gave you a chance to strike up a conversation with others while you waited.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Raffos77,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Most importantly, I delighted to read that our team were friendly and able to assist you with your requests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chifley Wollongong in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.6 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
4.5 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
1.3 km away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 km away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Wollongong

Property: Sage Hotel Wollongong
Address: 60 - 62 Harbour St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sage Hotel Wollongong is a modern hotel located about an hours drive from Sydney on the scenic NSW South Coast. The hotel is situated on Wollongong's foreshore, adjacent to WIN Sports and Entertainment Centre and a short walk to Wollongong City Beach, vibrant restaurants and cafes, and fabulous shopping at Wollongong Central and Crown St Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sage Hotel Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing