We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good feed”
Review of Grunske's

Grunske's
Ranked #5 of 181 Restaurants in Bundaberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Grunske's By The River is casual relaxed dining café style restaurant with fantastic views of the Burnett River. Our large undercover deck, covered outdoor eating area and downstairs covered river terrace with child friendly fencing provides a variety of seating choices for our customers. Grunske's has extensive off road parking that welcomes caravaners etc. Our extensive menu show cases fresh local seafood products and includes a variety of non seafood dishes - all of which are available dine in or takeaway. While your here duck into our seafood market (located in the same building) specialising in quality local seafood, meat and small goods and take home an esky full of Bundaberg's delights. We even have bait and ice and can pack your seafood for travel. Grunske's is open most days but please confirm trading hours for public holidays.
Reviewed April 13, 2018 via mobile

$69 for a seafood platter to share and were happy with the price and the vast selection...we ordered two for a group of four.A different crab on each platter 2 bugs enough tiger prawn cold and hot smoked fish salad then a hot selection cooked of prawns scallops calamari and chips and then oysters..bit small as used to coffin bay ones.
The cafe style service was a well oiled machine which has had much thought put into it over the years..with plenty of help yourself extras like water lemon wedges sauces galore all to access and ready at your disposal S well as a wash up area ,well needed after peeling seafood.Well done!
Situated on a picturesque part of the river.
Relaxed eating with great produce.

1  Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grunskesbytheriver, Owner at Grunske's, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you for visiting us the seafood platter for two is very popular and show cases our local seafood hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 566 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing considering this place came highly recommended. Oysters were so dry, prawns were tasteless. Nothing about this meal was satisfying unfortunately. Tho stunning sunset.

1  Thank Nell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grunskesbytheriver, Owner at Grunske's, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

If this was how your seafood was you should of bought it to our attention as this is not how it is at Grunske we have a lot of management staff available and we as owner are there working with our team and this could of been addressed at the time.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Having been before to Grunske's I had to re-visit. Twice in one week. Great Fish & Chips. Fabulous venue by the river, cool and inviting. Attentive staff. Minimalist seating but clean and tidy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MoonLanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grunskesbytheriver, Owner at Grunske's, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Hope to you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Our taxi driver told us to stop in at grunske's for a delicious seafood meal and it was the right thing to do! we had a beautiful view over the Bennett River and freshly cooked salt and pepper squid, yummy prawns and sweet potato chips. we had a couple of crisp local beers as well to enjoy and it was just such a perfect way to spend an afternoon. they also offer takeaway food which you can take on the Bundy Belle river cruise which departs from the same place and will take you up to the mouth of the burnett river

1  Thank Sonia h H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grunskesbytheriver, Owner at Grunske's, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you dining with us we use as much local produce as we can to help showcase what is available in this lovely town of ours and yes the river cruise is always a enjoyable time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

The freshest seafood co-op.
There is an on-site restaurant, or you can purchase the fresh seafood at the shop and sit outside, or downstairs under cover and enjoy the river view with your BYO wine.
A great lunch option.

1  Thank PnAOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grunskesbytheriver, Owner at Grunske's, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you for visiting but we are licensed not byo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grunske's also viewed

 
Bundaberg, Queensland
Bundaberg, Queensland
 
Bundaberg, Queensland
Bundaberg, Queensland
 

Been to Grunske's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing