We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than others...”
Review of Shakespeare Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shakespeare Motel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Qld
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Better than others...”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here on a work trip, and my experience was positive. The corner room that I had was large and comfortable. It is not a new establishment (3 star), enjoyed the meals, the service was good, and the owner Michael knows how to do business. He is the epitome of efficiency and he would expect the same of his staff. Mini-bar in the room. Nice casual ambient drinks area before you have a meal and a small but adequate pool for a dip in the heat. Would have no hesitation in returning to the Shakespeare.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msqMackay_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    35
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
32
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Nice place to stay. We were here overnight, but could have easily spent more time here. Rooms were clean and comfortable. One of the few hotels in Mackay that caters for 'large' families - eg, 2 adults and 3 children. Would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed for two nights in a family room. We arrived in the evening & check-in was quick. All the staff we encountered during our stay were really friendly & helpful. Room was on the top floor. Furnishings are dated but really clean. Room had a main living area (sofa, table, chairs & kitchenette) which the kids beds were in, a huge bathroom & a separate bedroom. Lots of power outlets. Hubby was attending a course with three other workmates (all in their own rooms). They all ordered breakfast for 6am & it arrived right on time & hot for all of them. Even though the motel was very busy, we had a quiet sleep both nights. Comfy bed too. Overall, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is a fairly good motel with great rates and friendly staff. Internet is free (best option is to use a network cable).
Motel has a restaurant attached called Romeo and Juliet. I have not tried it yet but will during my next stay.
Bed is comfy and the room is very clean. Mini bar available but is shamefully overpriced.
Book well in advance if staying on Mondays-Fridays as Mackay books out very quickly due to the mines.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottWooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moranbah, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed here for 1 night the staff went out of their way to accomodate us........
very friendly staff,clean,tidy rooms the rooms were a bit small but overall an enjoyable stay..............

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1600088Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I travel to Mackay frequently for business and have stayed at most of the hotels available in the CBD and Marina area, many of which are popular chain hotels. The Shakepeare is my pick of the lot. Yes the rooms are dated, but they are clean and everything is in working order. The staff are extremely friendly and very accommodating whatever the request and its a painless check in/out. The restaurant has very good food, that you can dine in or eat in your room.

What I like the most about the Shakespeare is the room layout is perfect for short business trips, the desk area is ample and there is actually spare plugs for laptop, phone etc. and yes there's actually plugs next to the bed. Rooms have mini bar, that arent ridiculously priced. To add to all that while I am typing this I am noting the freebie tea/coffee consists of Moccona (not necafe or blend blurk), bushells tea (not random who knows what brand) Milo, and Butter shortbread (not the standard 2 cardboard biscuit popular brand pack).

Theres obviously good management here, that gives a second thought to why their guests are staying here and what would make there stay a little more pleasant. They have made the best out of what they have to work with. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I have stayed 3 times at this motel. The staff are rather friendly, but the rooms are very noisy.
You can hear through all walls. There is no private balcony or seating area to relax.
Food here is great and you get to meet fellow travelers.
The rest of our staff stayed at other places but I was booked here again. I liked to get away from all others for me time.
The light came under the door every night and could not be blocked. There were bugs and geckos in the room.
The cleanliness could not be helped with the outdated design. It needs a good update or just a fresh paint and new carpets to bring it back to life.
I would rather room service as dining alone can be quite bothersome in the restaurant with others seated too close.
I would not stay again if choice was for the room alone. For the people that own and run the motel I would.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Progress1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
1.0 km away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
109 reviews
1.0 km away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#16 of 34 in Mackay
99 reviews
0.8 km away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#20 of 34 in Mackay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
195 reviews
1.0 km away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
208 reviews
0.6 km away
Paradise Lodge Motel
Paradise Lodge Motel
#10 of 34 in Mackay
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Motel

Property: Shakespeare Motel
Address: 309 Shakespeare St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shakespeare Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and centrally located, the Shakespeare Motel is an ideal choice for accommodation in Mackay. The Motel is 5 minutes from the CBD, with a modern restaurant and superior facilities. Service is our priority, and you'll find every staff member friendly and helpful, making you feel like you're at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Shakespeare Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing