We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian food!!”
Review of spice n flavor - CLOSED

spice n flavor
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian food!!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have lived across the world and love Indian food. This food is second to none! Service great. There is a choice of degrees of VINDALOO !! My husband is a vindaloo eater and even he cant eat the hottest!! Fabulous place!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2Eliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    18
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hubby is half Sri Lankan and we LOVE THIS PLAC!!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Mackay used to (and to a point still does) suffer from a remarkable lack of restaurants. When this place opened up it was swarmed!!! And rightly so, people go back. The food is amazing, the place is a bit too crowded with chairs if I have to be honest, if they could take a table out in each row I believe it would be more comfortable for others because its only small but they have a lovely couch area for takeaways so no standing for those people (which looks horrid in restaurants). Service - ah, not the best, will be honest. Like one Mackay reviewer, I have had to wait 25 minutes but I don't whinge about this because it really isn't a huge issue for me, I use this as catchup mode for friends or whatever. During meal time the service is still a bit to be desired but again, it wouldn't cause me NOT to go back - the food is too good for that. Yes, lets talk about THE FOOD!!! O.M.GGGGG!!!! We tried (hubby and me) the banquet once - oohh la la! Loved it, was a bit too much food but got the rest takeaway so that is fine. Loved the spices and flavouring (and YES, they do have lots of flavour guys, one persons review is interesting compared to everyone elses so I can't quite understand that. Maybe it is their taste buds - no offence to the reviewer but they haven't been back for a second go). Anyway, this place is always full and that, in itself, is a testament to the place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank squidgy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Way too good for Mackay. Great food and something you never get in Mackay - service”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Tasty Indian that Mackay has lacked until recently, with friendly atmosphere and decore not usually found in this country town

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

best Indian in town!! All the dishes have the fantastic authentic flavours!
great for family dinner or a intimate date. Beautiful restaurant

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

For great value go for one of the banquets. love the food and never leave here feeling hungry.

Helpful?
Thank lodgey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed spice n flavor also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing