We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Colhurst House(Mount Gambier)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Hotel(Mount Gambier)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Carpet Motel(Mount Gambier)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$71
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Commodore on the Park(Mount Gambier)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barn Accommodation(Mount Gambier)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments(Mount Gambier)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$100
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colwyn House bnb - Stable Cottage(Mount Gambier)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartments on Tolmie(Mount Gambier)
US$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
60
60
20
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
60
20
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschicken schnitzelhistoric hotelthe pubweekend staychoice of restaurantsfriendly bar staffchunky chipsnoise levelsseparate loungewine barbig breakfastold worldfantastic roommiddle of townoff street parkinghuge roomnice bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 155 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2018

A business trip for a week to Mount Gambier and 'the G' was close to the accomodation. We chose the tasting plate that for $30 was reasonably priced. We had more than enough food with the halloumi chips yum my fave part and the chicken was spicy and delicious. The front bar seating and atmosphere was good it has been renovated tastefully and is a nice place to catch up for a quiet drink or dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlcartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gambierhotel, Manager at Mount Gambier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Thank you jlcartiat for your review, we think the tasting plate is pretty good also, we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2018

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this beautiful old hotel right in the middle of town. Everything was in walking distance. Our room was spacious and impeccably clean. The King bed was very comfortable. We had breakfast in the dining room 3 mornings - large portions and very reasonably priced - especially loved the omlette. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel at home. We will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor overlooking Commercial Street. There are two flights of stairs - so may not suit older couples.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onya11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018

We stayed here recently and were impressed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we were staying in was amazing. It had a king bed, kitchenette, separate lounge with 2nd television, a second single bedroom and nice bathroom with a great shower. It was comfortable and quiet even though it is in a busy location. Access was easy to off street parking at rear.

Room Tip: We were in room 9, excellent
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

This pub was recommended by Brendan from the Princess Margaret Rose Caves as being a top pub in town. We were not disappointed and not only was the food fresh, it was great big servings and a good price. Highly recommended if you want somewhere nice that still fits the budget.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gambierhotel, Manager at Mount Gambier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Hi Wayne M

Thanks so much for your review and feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us

Thanks again and we look forward to having you back at the Mount Gambier Hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

We recently had a stop-over in Mount Gambier, on the way to Kangaroo Island for a family get-away, and I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of food and service at this pub. I had the best steak and salad/chips in years! Cooked perfectly to my taste and it was so flavoursome. Prices were very reasonable. They even catered to my children’s request for a non-menu item: a mocktail (after our recent trip to Fiji they now expect holiday drinks to consist of ‘sunset’ colours and an orange wedge). This restaurant sums up the value of embracing local produce and country town ideals.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews