We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
37
72
50
27
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
72
50
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brie bit dated spa suite kangaroo island lamb shank good size the main highway sized bed room was spacious sauna airconditioners receptionist australia bath generations couch rates
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 213 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

Whilst the blurb on the front of the Menu indicates that good food takes time to prepare, waiting well over an hour without being offered some pre dinner nibbles isn't ok these days! Some fresh bread and oil would have sufficed as well as providing a more hospitable atmosphere. I had chicken, brie, and rosemary with fresh broccoli, whole baby carrots and mash. This delicious dish was well presented. My partner had the lamb curry, equally well presented. The local house Shiraz is very quaffable.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room56, Manager at Quality Inn Presidential, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Quality Inn Presidential.
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the wait on you meal during your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with the restaurant and kitchen staff to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.
Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Mt Gambier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2017

We spent two nights here whilst attending the Generations In Jazz Event. It was about all that was left in Mount Gambier and I was apprehensive as many of the reviews below are poor. On arrival the receptionists were smiling and helpful (although it would be nice to have been given wifi codes at check in rather than have to trail back for them later). We had room 55 and it was much as described by others - very dated but large and clean. The bed itself turned out to be comfortable and the shower was excellent despite looking like a throw back to the sixties. The biggest problem was the cold. The room was freezing on entry and the old blow heater which we turned on struggled to warm it. We kept outside coats on until we left for town. On our second day we tried to leave the heater going but it was switched off by staff and so again we retuned to a freezing cold room - not attractive. The room was right on the main road and the traffic noise was loud. We only had one breakfast as it was an expensive low point. The continental choices were very poor. Nothing fresh - everything out of a tin. Not a piece of fresh fruit in sight. I had higher hopes from the eggs benedict but when it arrived it was covered in a horrible mayonnaise-like gloop that was nothing like a hollandaise sauce. It rendered the whole lot inedible. Better to have stuck with safer choices. Staff were very pleasant however. So good points and bad but we would try somewhere else next time.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank 1237cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room56, Manager at Quality Inn Presidential, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Quality Inn Presidential.
Allow me to apologise on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding your breakfast on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with the kitchen staff to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.
Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Mt Gambier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017

i was a tad anxious making a booking however I am glad i did. I am not sure where the people who wrote the negative reviews stayed however my experience was the opposite.

spacious , clean room. smiley faces at reception . good value and plenty of room i reckon i have said that before.. next time im in the mount will stay here again

Stayed: April 2017
Thank tomika4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room56, Manager at Quality Inn Presidential, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our motel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here previously and found them to be good. The bed was beautiful like lying in a cloud, the room was large. We ordered room service which was also fantastic. We had a superior king room.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room56, Manager at Quality Inn Presidential, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our motel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and your stay.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We had been booked into this place sight unseen as part of our drive on the Great Ocean Road, and as it was our first stop on the way we were quite tired but also quite excited. What a disappointment. It's not really an hotel, more a motel, and one which clearly hadn't had any time, effort or money spent on it since the 1970s - think drab, tired beige paintwork and smoked glass. Our room was absolutely, laughably vast, like a conference room; windows all along one side but right next to the road where the lorries thundered by all night. Here are just a few of the problems with the room: cigarette burns on the washbasin, a splintered hole on the back of the bathroom door where the hook had clearly been ripped off, a bottle opener screwed to the washbasin unit (!), a flimsy plastic bin which flipped over when you put your foot on the pedal, a huge, stained jacuzzi bath, shower head which clearly hadn't be descaled in years, horrible nylon carpet, old, stained and chipped table, bedside clock which didn't work, rules and regulations stuck up everywhere ... Are you getting the flavour? And in the morning we weren't sure whether breakfast had been included in our booking so I went to reception to check; it wasn't, and by the time I got back to the breakfast room my husband had poured us two cups of tea for which the hotel had the barefaced cheek to charge us 5 dollars for! Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ginnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Room56, Owner at Quality Inn Presidential, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our motel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews