We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
27
30
43
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
30
43
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean place to stay great shower the main road umpherston sinkhole short stay town centre good size accommodation couch melbourne victoria bonus mount gambier
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 142 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We recently visited Mt Gambier as part of a holiday through the south East of SA. We had a small dog with us and were looking for dog friendly accommodation and were pleased to find that the Silver Birch could accommodate our need with one of their rooms. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were able to walk into the city in an easy 10 to 15 minutes which was a bonus. An enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commodoreonthepark, Accommodation Manager at Comfort Inn Silver Birch, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Dear Grant C,

We would like to thank you for taking the time review our property. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,
Sarah - Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018

Very comfortable, friendly staff, breakfast to go is a great idea and very tasty! This style of accomodation suits me after a long day on the road. Pricing for food and beverages are pretty good as well.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank scottmarsh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K, General Manager at Comfort Inn Silver Birch, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Comfort Inn Silver Birch with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2018

Checked in, only 2 rooms left and were told ours was one of the last 2 rooms awaiting refurb but that it was clean and comfortable
On way to room noticed the whole setup looked dated
On arrival at room 1st impression was how small it was. The kitchenette bit was very dated and the shower room above all need a refurb.
The sheets and pillowcases were clean.
However as we progressed through the evening we found dirt everywhere. Worst was under the window which looked as though nobody had bothered cleaning there for a few weeks at least, a collection of dirt and dead insects. Pelmet above window was covered in dust as was the top of the tv and the carpet needed a good clean and hoover. Bathroom had cobwebs above the sink and even it’s own spiders, bathroom exractor fan was very noisy.
Air con was very noisy and took a while to have any effect at all.
This wasn’t a cheap room at $175 and had there been more availability we would moved motels, however it has put us off our booking at Comfort resort Kaloha which we will now cancel.
I aware there is more of a motel than hotel culture in Aus than Uk and we need to re assess our expectations but a dirty room can never be acceptable.

Room tip: Avoid if possible, at least see the room before you pay
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paxopaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J, other at Comfort Inn Silver Birch, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear paxpoaxo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Comfort Inn Silver Birch. Allow me to apologise on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with the whole team, and we have actively addressed the cleaning issues you have raised. Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give the brand another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodation.

Regards,
Sarah - Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2018

Very hot on arrival and pool was great - indoor and cool. Service from reception and in the restaurant was great - food was average but overall a good, comfortable place to stay. Reception helped me deal with a problem of lost items and were excellent in doing this, so highly recommend this motel as a good place to stay - not luxury but clean, affordable and friendly.

Room tip: Probably in the middle away from the two main roads and near to the pool
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J, other at Comfort Inn Silver Birch, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Jim R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. Your feedback serves as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. The property has recently changed ownership, and the new owners have commenced refurbishment of some of the rooms, with the plan to refurbish all rooms and facilities.

Regards,
Sarah - Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

Came down for a business meeting, had this accommodation booked by my boss. Very nice and I was impressed with my room. Had everything I needed. Very nice town also, the information in the room was very helpful too.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MarcusRiley33758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J, Accommodation Manager at Comfort Inn Silver Birch, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear MarcusRiley33758,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Mount Gambier and that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Regards,
Sarah - Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews