We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
144
230
114
46
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
230
114
46
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenluggage liftbudget accommodationprivate bathroomoverland trackfree wifidown stairscentral locationold buildinggreat value for moneycity parkcataract gorgehosteltvbunkparkingtasmania
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 583 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

This hotel was extremely impressive. It is close to the supermarket and mall. Kitchen is clean , tidy and big . Staff are helpful.
Rooms are clean and tidy. Nice but not so quiet.

Price are reasonable.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 277chana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is located about 10’ walk from the Redline and Tassielink office. The hotel is warm and cozy. There is large common area with a tv and couches and a Kitchen where you can cook and clean the dishes after. There is a pool table. There is a washroom inside the room. My room is a 4 beds dorm and I shared it with only one girl. The facility is clean. There is a laundry room in the building. You can buy detergent from the reception for $1. The washer and dryer both cost 4 $1 coins which I think way too expensive or maybe this is the average cost for laundry in Australia in general. There are lockers in the room but you have to provide your own lock. It was so loud from the street on Saturday night when we tried to go to bed early since we had an early tour the next morning. There is no toilet in the common area so when in need, we had to go up to our room and my room was on the second floor. There are a lot of shops and restaurants nearby. The hostel is located 5 mins walk to the City park where there are monkeys and baboons. The closest supermarket is Woolworths which is 20’ walk. The Cataract Gorge is a must visit attraction and it’s 30’ walk from the hostel. There are shuttle to the airport you can book with the hostel and the cost is $15.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank Ha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

Pros:
Good for those on a budget, good size room with aircon, tv and tea/coffee making facilities. Communal kitchen downstairs. Very central so the Main Street is walking distance.
Staff are friendly.

Cons:
The bathroom in the room I was in had a very serious mould problem - you could smell it upon opening the door into the room - in need of an upgrade. Hot water is pretty limited.

Car parking is very limited so if you luck out you’ll have to pay for parking.
There is a nightclub below - luckily I stayed on a night when it was closed.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank feindigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BatmanFawknerInn, Manager at Batman Fawkner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and acknowledging our friendly staff,
We are happy to report that since your stay here we have upgraded our hot water and now have more than enough to cover the entire hotel.
We were not made aware of any mold issues until reading your feedback.
This issue has since been investigated and we have removed a small patch from above the shower.
Our guest parking is limited but given our central location we are very lucky to have the spaces we do have.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future for a better experience and more of a consistent shower.
Kind regards
Batman Fawkner Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Great staff, friendly and courteous. Our favs blonde Jamie, Matt and Pug, Ben and all staff. We loved our 2 weeks stay. Could get noisy at times but didn't interfere with sleep. Enjoyed pool table and BFI very accessible to everything. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable. Couldn't have asked for better.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank SatisfiedCustomer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

There is a club near the hotel that many say you can hear all night, but my room is 17A, the closest room to the club and I didn't hear it mostly, and if I did it was faint. The beds are comfy and the staff super friendly, especially blonde Jamie. (she should get a raise! :) ) There is a kitchen that all guests use and you are asked to clean up after yourselves, which isn't hard, and the kitchen has everything you could ever possibly need, even things from different countries for foreign guests. There are pool tables and vending machines with snacks and drinks that are cheap. The showers at the time of our visit were a little cold but that is a one-off, they were just waiting for a shipment from the mainland, and they made up for it with other things. You receive free coffee, tea, sugar, milk and conditioning shampoo with your room, and Woolworths is two blocks away and coles is only one. I definitely recommend it as it is a cheap, friendly and comfortable place. Even has a baggage lift to take luggage upstairs.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews