We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We satyed in this hotel as part of a trip aound Tasmania and it was the best so far. The Hotel is only a couple of years old. Our twin bed room had a kitchenette which meant we had enough to make our own breakfasts and picnics.
We had the continental breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was lovely, the breakfast included coffee.
The room was spacious and clean.
There are lots of places to eat right next to the hotel and the surrounding area is lovely to walk around, including the nearby Princes Park. I would recommend this hotel and definatly stay here again.
We tried to find a fault, but couldn't!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyflax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a converted hospital that provides boutique accommodation that is modern and spotlessly clean - the shower was superb. Rooms are on the small side - we booked a king studio with a balcony and views of the city and it was quiet. It provides free wi-fi and good value breakfasts. We had the impression it was used a lot by people on business which is not surprising because it was a bit of a trek from the tourist sites. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We were initially very disappointed because the view was over the car park, hospital and distant vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BambiSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great stay here recently.A wonderful makeover has been achieved here on this former Hospital.
Quirky touches abound and the hotel has a truly unique feel.
Rates are very reasonable considering the obvious expenditure on the makeover.
Top menu with many dishes reflecting Tasmania's high standing in the gourmet produce scene.
Small hiccup on checkout but Andy, the manager handled it admirably with 2 Email's and a couple of phone calls to check we were happy.
Highly recommended to all and we will be back!
Worth a side trip to Launceston just to stay here, but why wouldn't you go to Launceston
anyway?
It really is a lovely little Town (Make sure you check out the Monkeys in the City Park)
with many Beautiful historic buildings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madirish70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 330. The views were amazing from the window, it was only houses on the other side of the hill but at night it was like fairy land, very romantic. This hotel was very quiet, spotless clean and very spacious (king bed room). It was new and it felt very welcoming. We did look at the rooms on the other side of the hotel (I think they were doubles) we would of been disappointed with the "no view" and they were much smaller . Car park was free which was worth it. Staff very nice, went out of their way to make us happy. We can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat there.

Short walk to the CBD, Coles supermarket and liquor outlet only 5 minute walk away, beautiful older homes to look at on the way. Many cafes to eat at close to hotel, although they weren't cheap in you are on a budget. We found a good pub on York St, can't remember the name but its on a corner, on Thursday nights you get Chicken parmigana with chips, salad and a beer for $12. Bargain and it was yummy. We also found a pub on Saturday night called The Oak, if you like live music (one guy singing) it's worth a visit, it got very crowded later on and drinks were reasonable.
Couple of negative things about the hotel, only small though ....room had everything except cutlery was a bit sparse, only 2 teaspoons. Plunger coffee was pretty bad but thats only a minor thing. Free internet at reception was slow, no idea why but it was annoying when time was important.
All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the hospital, the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We received a poor welcome with the receptionist talking on the phone and not even so much as a nod to us for at least 15 minutes- very poor. The Hotel is large and we thought we were in the Hospital which it seem to be part of!!! Yuck- it reminded me of the Private Hospital on the Gold Coast. Absolutely awful I would recommend staying elsewhere unless you are a visiting Dr to the Hospital and you want an early start!!! I'll be letting our Travel Agent know not to recommend this Hotel to anyone in the future. One thing- first impressions count- rude unhelpful reception staff can make or break your stay!

Room Tip: Poor unhelpful front office staff and a Hospital like Hotel- stay elsewhere more true to Tassie whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LrrieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Hotel Charles is a nice modern hotel close to local restaurants and bars. The rooms are clean and the bed is very comfortable. I truly enjoyed the free in-room internet access.

The only negative comment is that the hallways on each floor can feel a bit spooky if you find yourself alone. This is a result of its original architecture as a hospital. For those that have seen the movie "The Shining," I felt that a pair of twins was going to come from around the corner at any moment. Once you get to your room, however, you are greeted to a bright and cheerful room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Discerning-Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

LOCATION:close to cafes and restaurants on Charles street, 30 minutes walk to the gorge
ATMOSPHERE: this building used to be a hospital, which has reborn as a modern,cool hotel. More could have been done to turn the aseptic hospital ambiance into something groovier.
MENU - FOOD AND WINE: Did not try the restaurant - because of above reason the bar did not seem that attractive.
SERVICE: Efficient and Friendly
PRICE: average for Tasmania
HIGHLIGHTS: The originality of the place, the clean comfortable rooms.
DISAPPOINTMENTS: This place could be groovier than it is, it is like a couple of tricks were missed
YOU WILL LOVE IT IF: you like something different
YOU MIGHT HATE IT: refurbished hospitals are not for you

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youngprofessionalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.7 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
989 reviews
1.5 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#5 of 30 in Launceston
928 reviews
1.6 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
5.3 km away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#3 of 30 in Launceston
842 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $146 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing