We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,872)
Filter reviews
1,872 results
Traveller rating
973
688
161
36
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
973
688
161
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted hospitallaunceston general hospitalmodern hotelroom serviceking roomfree wifismall kitchenettefresh airbusiness triphotel restaurantcity centrecomfortable bedreception staffgreat roomconvenient locationan easy walkgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,723 - 1,728 of 1,872 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a converted hospital that provides boutique accommodation that is modern and spotlessly clean - the shower was superb. Rooms are on the small side - we booked a king studio with a balcony and views of the city and it was quiet. It provides free wi-fi and good value breakfasts. We had the impression it was used a lot by people on business which is not surprising because it was a bit of a trek from the tourist sites. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We were initially very disappointed because the view was over the car park, hospital and distant views of west Launceston not a view of the older part of town which we envisaged from the photos of this hotel. A lot of the high rooms seemed to be private apartments and those lower down suites.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BambiSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Great stay here recently.A wonderful makeover has been achieved here on this former Hospital.
Quirky touches abound and the hotel has a truly unique feel.
Rates are very reasonable considering the obvious expenditure on the makeover.
Top menu with many dishes reflecting Tasmania's high standing in the gourmet produce scene.
Small hiccup on checkout but Andy, the manager handled it admirably with 2 Email's and a couple of phone calls to check we were happy.
Highly recommended to all and we will be back!
Worth a side trip to Launceston just to stay here, but why wouldn't you go to Launceston
anyway?
It really is a lovely little Town (Make sure you check out the Monkeys in the City Park)
with many Beautiful historic buildings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madirish70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 330. The views were amazing from the window, it was only houses on the other side of the hill but at night it was like fairy land, very romantic. This hotel was very quiet, spotless clean and very spacious (king bed room). It was new and it felt very welcoming. We did look at the rooms on the other side of the hotel (I think they were doubles) we would of been disappointed with the "no view" and they were much smaller . Car park was free which was worth it. Staff very nice, went out of their way to make us happy. We can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat there.

Short walk to the CBD, Coles supermarket and liquor outlet only 5 minute walk away, beautiful older homes to look at on the way. Many cafes to eat at close to hotel, although they weren't cheap in you are on a budget. We found a good pub on York St, can't remember the name but its on a corner, on Thursday nights you get Chicken parmigana with chips, salad and a beer for $12. Bargain and it was yummy. We also found a pub on Saturday night called The Oak, if you like live music (one guy singing) it's worth a visit, it got very crowded later on and drinks were reasonable.
Couple of negative things about the hotel, only small though ....room had everything except cutlery was a bit sparse, only 2 teaspoons. Plunger coffee was pretty bad but thats only a minor thing. Free internet at reception was slow, no idea why but it was annoying when time was important.
All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the hospital, the views are better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We received a poor welcome with the receptionist talking on the phone and not even so much as a nod to us for at least 15 minutes- very poor. The Hotel is large and we thought we were in the Hospital which it seem to be part of!!! Yuck- it reminded me of the Private Hospital on the Gold Coast. Absolutely awful I would recommend staying elsewhere unless you are a visiting Dr to the Hospital and you want an early start!!! I'll be letting our Travel Agent know not to recommend this Hotel to anyone in the future. One thing- first impressions count- rude unhelpful reception staff can make or break your stay!

Room Tip: Poor unhelpful front office staff and a Hospital like Hotel- stay elsewhere more true to Tassie which is overall very welcoming
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LrrieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The Hotel Charles is a nice modern hotel close to local restaurants and bars. The rooms are clean and the bed is very comfortable. I truly enjoyed the free in-room internet access.

The only negative comment is that the hallways on each floor can feel a bit spooky if you find yourself alone. This is a result of its original architecture as a hospital. For those that have seen the movie "The Shining," I felt that a pair of twins was going to come from around the corner at any moment. Once you get to your room, however, you are greeted to a bright and cheerful room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Discerning-Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews