We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the no 1 Trip Advisor rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Although Launceston is a small city, it has a very confusing one way street system. The Charles is situated on the edge of town and very easy to find. Straight off the freeway and one right turn uphill. We were in a side room overlooking a carpark, next time I'll try for a better view. The bed and bedding was fabulous, the kitchen was well equiped and the interior decor very pleasing. My only dislike were the orange chairs, they toppled very easily. Staff were efficient and friendly. As I've stayed in many different Hotels in Launceston I have plenty to compare with - The Charles is the best.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed 2 separate nights on a 4 night break in Tasmania. The room was a good size, the bathroom was huge and the view of the glorious sunset over Launceston was wonderful. Breakfast was excellent apart from 1 dish on the second morning. Every attempt was made to put this right and an offer of anything on the buffet made. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 503975Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The room was very spacious, the bathroom was huge! Lovedthe fresh milk in the fridge.The staff very friendly and helpful. Close to the centre of town and lots of good cafes. Will stay again

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coffeeplea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A very welcoming reception with tidy rooms and a spacious bathroom. The rooms were a bit smaller than I am used to being a business traveler usually.

Although I did not have much of a view and a tiny balcony at the front, the location was great with Coles down the road and small pubs and restaurants, a nice walk to the CBD and ideal for getting around in a car.

Value and satisfaction for money, gets my tick.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirIIx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We satyed in this hotel as part of a trip aound Tasmania and it was the best so far. The Hotel is only a couple of years old. Our twin bed room had a kitchenette which meant we had enough to make our own breakfasts and picnics.
We had the continental breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was lovely, the breakfast included coffee.
The room was spacious and clean.
There are lots of places to eat right next to the hotel and the surrounding area is lovely to walk around, including the nearby Princes Park. I would recommend this hotel and definatly stay here again.
We tried to find a fault, but couldn't!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyflax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a converted hospital that provides boutique accommodation that is modern and spotlessly clean - the shower was superb. Rooms are on the small side - we booked a king studio with a balcony and views of the city and it was quiet. It provides free wi-fi and good value breakfasts. We had the impression it was used a lot by people on business which is not surprising because it was a bit of a trek from the tourist sites. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We were initially very disappointed because the view was over the car park, hospital and distant vie...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BambiSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great stay here recently.A wonderful makeover has been achieved here on this former Hospital.
Quirky touches abound and the hotel has a truly unique feel.
Rates are very reasonable considering the obvious expenditure on the makeover.
Top menu with many dishes reflecting Tasmania's high standing in the gourmet produce scene.
Small hiccup on checkout but Andy, the manager handled it admirably with 2 Email's and a couple of phone calls to check we were happy.
Highly recommended to all and we will be back!
Worth a side trip to Launceston just to stay here, but why wouldn't you go to Launceston
anyway?
It really is a lovely little Town (Make sure you check out the Monkeys in the City Park)
with many Beautiful historic buildings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madirish70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.7 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
904 reviews
1.6 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.5 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.3 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
1.2 km away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $132 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing