We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balmoral on York
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have stayed at Balmoral a few times and their service and facilities are consistently of a high standard. The staff are all delightful and all requests are met promptly and with a smile. I stayed on the third floor on my most recent stay and loved the panoramic view of Launceston. The room was spacious, well appointed and clean and hot water was plentiful. I travel extensively for work often staying in 2 -3 different places a week so have lots to compare with.
I highly recommend The Balmoral for value for money, service and convenience, it's one of the best around!

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the city have the best views, the rooms on the other side still have views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    216
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
47
290
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here one night, it was a lovely establishment. Older but had been done up nicely. We stayed in room 303, great views of the city and windows were clean and actually opened so you could have fresh air if you liked. Very clean and tastefully decorated. Mini bar was fantastic, we don't use the mini bar much but it had a great selection, both drinks and snacks. Good size room, a little noisy with traffic but nothing bad. Continental breakfast was simple but delicious, the berry compote was to die for....plus fresh fruit and Twinings tea thank goodness, rather than some other cheap brand. Seemed healthy instead of the usual plastic presentation. The verandah off from the restaurant was a little tired looking, perhaps it needed a little attention, sweeping up and the flowers redone.

Very close to CBD and a handy pub across the road on the corner, nice meals and reasonable prices. Service was good as well.

I would recommend this hotel to friends. The views were great and when the sun set the room felt really inviting.

The only two things I would mention is when you had a shower and somene flushed the toilet the water in the shower got super hot, this could be dangerous if a small child was using the shower. It needs attention. The other point which is only a visual comment. the colour of the building, its painted brick and a really drab depressing khaki colour. When we arrived and saw it I thought "oops, its going to be a daggy place, but it wasn't. Perhaps a new paint colour to brighten it up a bit, and suggest the happy inviting place it really is.

Apart from that, we loved it and would go back again.

Room Tip: Stay at front of hotel on 3rd floor or above, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

During my travels over the 2 weeks and staying in many properties throughout Tasmania....this was by far the worst. As one of the previous comments stated---the air conditioning did not work. Being on the 4th floor (and a warm day), this made for a less than pleasant sleep. It was only after we opened the window, did we find a bit of relief (but then had to listen to the passing cars all night). One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was for the wireless internet. I have used my laptop at every other hotel (and am using it now at a different hotel)-- we (as well as the hotel staff) were unable to get it to work. The staff was very kind to allow us to use their computer to print out our boarding passes...but it was a big disappointment as we could not check our emails and accomplish some other things we needed to get done. The room was adequate, TV selection was ok, view was alright...not the best place to stay by far but not the worst. The kind staff made it tolerable. I stayed in other places prior to this that were much cheaper and much nicer.

Room Tip: We had the city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This hotel is centrally located just a short downhill walk to Launcestone's shops and restaurants. It's got a free car park and very friendly reception staff. We had a particularly large, clean and comfortable room equiped with flat screen TV, fridge etc. The continental breakfast (extra) was above average. If ever in Launcestone again we would happily stay there..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We booked our accommodation because of the name "Best Western". However, it is no longer a Best Western hotel. It is independently run. It was a disappointing stay - the air conditioner did not work (only the fan was running), the bed was old and sagging, the mini bar fridge was dripping with water, the shower base was mouldy. and did not like the cold breakfast as coffee was horrible. For the amount we paid, we found that there are several other better accommodation around that area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxibon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donasts, Owner at Balmoral on York, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, however I am gobsmacked by your comments !

I have been through our incident/feedback book where all staff write down general comments of the guests as they are very important to us and I have been through our maintenace forms to see what guests write and I was not aware of your experience.

We had been Best Western up until Jan 19 2012 and we chose to leave the franchise (the majority of our feedback is "wow - you would be one of the better Best Western's that they have stayed in"), as such it was a commercial decision why we left and without animosity.

The bedding is only 12 months old is five star quality bedding (we were only one of thirteen properties that purchased the specific licence to make thses high quality beds) and the air conditioning is modern daikin air conditioning, as such nearly every guests speaks glowingly of these two items - every day or second day we receive outstanding feedback.

Your comments on the mini bar and shower... I do not have an answer other than our housekeeoing standards continue to surpass international four star standards "scored independently" and I cannot be the judge of everyones coffee preference, however this is a guatemalan bean that is ground fresh daily.

I am sorry that your perception is that we have not delivered to your satsifaction, however it is not congruent with the award winning standards with outstanding feedback being the daily expectation of our guests. I take your comments to heart and assure you that we have set a high standard for all guests and we invest in the latest furniture/technology to ensure all guests are satisfied.

Again, the industry is better for feedback and I thank you for taking the time to write on tripadvisor, however we know and recognise the high quality standard we perform and deliver to our guests - our motto for guest experience is "every day and every time to all guests".

regards
Trevor Donaldson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Balmoral on York and found the location very convenient. We did a lot of walking around the shopping area, down by the water and across to the Old Mill. THe owners were very friendly and the room was very clean and comfortable.
We only ate there on one night and I believe their normal chef was on holidays. We ordered a vegetable risotto and a Greek salad and both were very disappointing to say the least. The risotto was distinctly reminiscent of macaroni cheese and the Greek salad was desperately trying to breastroke through balsamic vinegar. Can't comment on the breakfast as we tend to go to local eateries for breakfast rather than stay in the hotel. However, all in all, a very pleasant experience.
Whilst in Launceston be sure to visit Cataract Gorge and ride the chairlift. Have a meal at Stillwater restaurant in the old flour mill by the water and visit the gift shope with lovely local produce an handicrafts.Get up close and personal with the seahorse house and the platypus house and get up close and personal with an echidna.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look over the street and had a pleasant outlook. Rooms at the rear tend to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnalSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.0 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
865 reviews
1.1 km away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
362 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Property: Balmoral on York
Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing