We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Better places to stay down the road” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Coach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Coach House
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better places to stay down the road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, then moved to the Balmoral on York -much better.
Reception seemed uninterested, beds were TERRIBLE! Hard as a rock. Rooms were clean but very dated. Good TV

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BazAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    56
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
21
64
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Coach House for two nights in November. I was very impressed with my very comfortable clean room which had all the creature comforts of home - excellent value for money. The bed was very comfortable, I enjoyed a big screen tv, free internet, mini bar and the bathroom was sparkling. I had a very generous breakfast but didn't use the restaurant this time. The staff treated me like a friend and I would difinitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosmary60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

I picked this accomodation based on good reviews on trip advisor but was a little disappointed as it was pretty dated and one of the people serving us was a bit grumpy (the others were VERY nice). We found the location very handy to walk to City Park with our 2yo - he loved the monkeys ! Also very convenient for walking to and from Aurora Stadium for an AFL match and to and from the CBD/mall.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TolmansHillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
429 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

After travelling for the last week, staying overnight in many different places we finally arrived at Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston. The outside didn't look like much but once checked in and inside, we felt comfortable and couldn't find any fault. It was clean, had plenty of space, lots of amentities, reception was friendly and informative and there was free internet access. During our 2 day stay we could not find anything negative with this place and was a real pleasure to stay in. There is plenty of free and convenient parking, laundry access and most important of all the rooms were quiet. If I ever get the chance to go back to Launceston I would stay here again - fuss free!

The bed was wonderful - not too soft and not too hard, just right! The bathroom has a heater and is seperate to the toilet which is a great set up. The bed has an electric blanket and the room had plenty of space. The location is great - easy to find, its close to the city, shops and restaurants. It is also close to other attractions but not close enough to the city to get the noisy CBD and parking headache. All in all this place is a great place to stay when in Launceston.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ_Mizit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

Not what we expected very old looking, unattractive, ugly motel. our room was on ground floor - which is lower than ground - more like a dungeon.
dated interior and the staff was indifferent to say the least

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussyasme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Having stayed in Launceston many times and in many varied types of accomodation, at last I have found somewhere where I would gladly stay again. Room clean and well appointed. Nice view from the opening windows. Clean bathroom providing all the necessaries. Above all no outside noise, as I have had some bad experiances with hoon drivers in Launceston, any night of the week, any hour of the night (believe me I have had this happen on all my previous stays) "Coach House" ticks all the right boxes for me. Staff were very off hand even appearing to be put out, when their computer viewing was interupted so that we could place our breakfast orders. Still this doesn't put me off the place and I will be back. PS (the walk into town is short and shouldn't be a problem)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wigelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

For the price, we found The Coach House to be a good place to stay.

The pro's were: Very close to the CBD, fairly modern furniture/appliances etc, reasonably priced mini-bar, nice thick curtains which shut off all the morning light, the breakfast was great, the hotel and surrounds were clean.

The con's were: The service was very... flat. Friendly enough but lacking in any form of enthusiasm.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HobartCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#14 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 km away
Commodore Regent
Commodore Regent
#17 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#15 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.2 km away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#1 of 2 in Riverside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#16 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Coach House

Property: Comfort Inn Coach House
Address: 10 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Coach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 room Motel is located in a quiet area of the CBD on Windmill Hill with views overlooking the City and the Valley of the Tamar River. Offering various accommodation options to suit corporate, families and couples. Free On-site Car Parking Free Foxtel Free Wi-Fi Free Newspaper Option of Room Service Breakfast or Breakfast Room Buffet with cooked to order meals (extra) Guest Self Serve Laundry Snack Bar available from Reception Local Attractions: Heritage Buildings, Aurora Stadium, City Park to see the Monkeys for free, Art Galleries, James Boag's Brewery Tours, Mall, State of the Art Aquatic Centre, Cataract Gorge, Tamar River Cruise, Old Umbrella Shop (1860), Gourlay's Sweets. Our Region: Bridestowe Lavender Farm, Wineries, Berry Farms, Convict Sites, Tamar River Wetlands, Ben Lomond Ski Village, Liffey Falls. Hollybank Tree Tops Adventure, Penguin Tours, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coach House Hotel Launceston
Country Comfort Launceston Coach Hotel
Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing