We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change your cleaning chemicals.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    574
    313
    75
    50
See reviews for
249
514
105
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked the privilege package but had to argue with the check-in staff about what we were getting as part of the package. I had a print of the booking details which he photocopied to prove that what we ordered which incl breakfast. At breakfast they told we didn't have it included in our package (they even added it to our bill)- We didn't get the magazines or slippers; or the chocolates either - what we were given were 2 tiny biscuits (perhaps they need training to let them know the difference between a biscuit & a chocolate!). Newspapers were not delivered to our room, but a self-service option. The buffet breakfast food was poor - bacon smelt & tasted old, although the selection of T2 teas was good. Rooms were not cleaned very well at all. A commendation for Jess & one another female at reception (sorry - didn't get her name) they were both very helpful - a saving grace for the hotel. Another of the reception staff (male) has no idea how to speak on the phone when making a restaurant booking - it was "Hi I'd like to make a booking for 3 people" - to me "what's your ph #" " From Jess it was more of what I expected " Hi- its Jess form the Mercure Hotel. I'd like to make a booking for a guest ..hotel ph # is ...etc...). The bar staff were good. The location of the hotel was great but we probably wouldn't stay there again should we next visit Launceston

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowleopard53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Snowleopard53,

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston, please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel and the services therein did not meet your expectations.

Following your feedback we have reviewed all of the offers that we have in the marketplace & ensured that our Team have a full list of all entitlements for these various offers, I am sorry that you had to point out the inclusions to your booking to our Team on this occasion. In the Privilege Rooms we offer a variety of chocolates which include chocolate covered biscuits, Housekeeping would have been happy to change the product for you if your preference was for a chocolate amenity. A selection of newspapers are located in the lift lobby of each floor to provide a choice of reading material and reduces any early morning disturbance for our guests when newspapers are delivered to rooms individually.

I was pleased to read that you have recognised Jess for the service that she has provided to you, I have passed your comments on to her and the Front Office Manager for internal recognition also.

I was disappointed to read that you are not happy to recommend the hotel to your friends or family and I would be happy to discuss the opportunity of a future stay with you directly as we would like to welcome you back to Mercure Launceston on your next visit to Launceston.

Yours Sincerely

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
03 6333 9999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Good stay overall, meal in restaurant was very good. The room I stayed in was clean and comfortable but it's getting a bit dated and could do with a refresh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules_macboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at the Mercure in Launceston and found it to be the perfect spot to discover Launceston. It was easy to reach City park, Cataract gorge, Seaport and the main shopping district by walking. The room was clean, comfy, beds great, fresh linen daily, friendly staff. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLauncestonGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Lee M,

Thank you for taking your time to post a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay at Mercure Launceston, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with the Hotel Team as I am sure that this feedback will provide recognition and motivation to them to continue providing the high levels of service that you experienced during your time with us.

Thank you once again Lee M and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul Morton
General Manager
Mercure Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.5 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,437 reviews
0.8 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
0.1 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Property: Best Western Plus Launceston
Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing