We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Reasonable Motel, maybe overpriced,” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bairnsdale Main Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bairnsdale Main Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Bairnsdale
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Reasonable Motel, maybe overpriced,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

On our road trip from Sydney via Melbourne to Adelaide this was actually the most expensive nightly rate I found. However, it was by far not the nicest place of all.

In general there was nothing wrong with it, the rooms were clean, spacious, the TV was big and had many channels. I also like the huge fridge as we had a fair amount of food and drinks with us. Staff were friendly and parking available right in front of the room.

Hence it was a very average stay, not outstanding in a good way but on the other side nothing wrong with it. I would stay there again if I found a cheaper rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s1m0n86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    16
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
27
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Clean and comfortable units, free parking, WiFi at a reasonable cost, and convenient location on the main road through town, breakfast can be supplied, and as with any accommodation, especially during the busy summer season, the owners, understandably, would appreciate a phone call if your plans change, we would be happy stay again. DEC 2011

Room Tip: room 15 was adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footey053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Very clean and comfortable. Great location for halfway stopping point between Melbourne and Merimbula. Delicious breakfast arrived on time and hot.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

A last minute change of plan mean't an infant had to be brought along for our trip. We were made to feel we did something terribly wrong when we arrived not to mention they wanted to charge for an 8month infant. The owners were rude and obnoxious! We were attacked immediately for apparent deception rather than being asking politely. I would never stay at this place again!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank repeter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
main544, Owner at Bairnsdale Main Motel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
When all bookings are made a total number of guests (including children and babies) are requested and confirmed. This enables the motel to accommodate the guests in the most suitable room. This is done for the comfort of both the incoming guest and existing guests.
Maximum room occupancies apply to all rooms due to configuration and guest comfort. Children and babies are counted in occupancy rates and suitable rooms are offered dependant on numbers and charged accordingly.
As your plans of bringing an 8 month baby changed at short notice, all that was needed was a phone call that morning to advise the motel and suitable arrangements for room changes could have been made prior to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Spotless, cleanest motel I have ever stayed in. Great value overnight room, large lcd tv with heaps of channels,nice comfy bed, quiet split system heater was appreciated on this cold winters day. Had a great stay, booked another night. Looks like an older style motel - but don't judge a book by its cover - it has definitely had plenty of TLC!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heinieken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

We were travelling with a young family. The hotel advised that the last time for check-in was 9pm, but as we had a child feeling restless and ill, we thought we'd better stop off. This delayed us until after 9.30pm.

We rang the hotel at 8pm to ask what we could do. They said they wouldn't wait for us or leave a key. We asked if a friend could pick up the key on our behalf and they refused to allow us to do that either.

In the end they left us high and dry with a 3 year old, a 6 year old and nowhere to stay, and they took our $100. Never again.

We finally called another motel (Kansas City), who were most happy to stay up and really looked after us. 10/10 to them.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank MsCandy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
main544, Owner at Bairnsdale Main Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Whilst we empathise with your situation, you were well aware of our closure policy (strictly no after hours check-ins) when you booked through a third party booking site. We did assist with supplying numerous phone numbers for other motels that may have been able to accommodate your late arrival.
We ask that you appreciate, that as owner/operators, we are open to the public for 14 hours per day / 7 days per week and that we also have family committments.
We are pleased that another motel in the town was able to assist you with and you had a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Standard looking motel from the outside but the rooms themselves are quite pleasant; quite a bit more style in the decor than one usually gets in a highway motel. Nice and clean and good size rooms. However like most motels I have stayed at in this area, the mattress is only just okay. This motel seems to have put quite a bit of thought and extra effort in the rooms with nice carpet, nice tiles in the bathroom and some paintings on the wall. They could invest in some pillows urgently; the ones they have are flimsy, cheap and nasty. The motel is right on the main highway, so bring your earplugs. Despite all of this, I would probably stay again if I had to be in Bairnsdale for business.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bairnsdale hotels
0.8 km away
Mitchell River Tavern
Mitchell River Tavern
#3 of 13 in Bairnsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 km away
Bairnsdale Kansas City Motel
Bairnsdale Kansas City Motel
#9 of 13 in Bairnsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.7 km away
The Riversleigh
The Riversleigh
#1 of 13 in Bairnsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Bairnsdale International
Bairnsdale International
#5 of 13 in Bairnsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.4 km away
bairnsdalemotel.com.au
bairnsdalemotel.com.au
#2 of 13 in Bairnsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairnsdale Main Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairnsdale Main Motel

Property: Bairnsdale Main Motel
Address: 544 Main St | (Opposite Bunnings Warehouse), Bairnsdale, Victoria 3875, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Bairnsdale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Bairnsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bairnsdale Main Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner operated with all ground floor units. HD LCD tv's with Foxtel including movies, sports & more. Wireless internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Bairnsdale Main Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing