We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Road Break”
Review of Abel Tasman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abel Tasman Motel
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Prior to travelling the Great Alpine Road, we stayed at the AbelTasman.
Very clean, well appointed Motel, starting to show its maturity, however giving beautiful water views, fairly close to the centre of town, and more than friendly staff

Room Tip: First Floor.....Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jbgtaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

The abel tasman has the hall marks of yesteryears hotel motel. Fantastic location directly across from the beach (with a loud highway in between). Unfortunately rooms are a bit worn and tired. And for us during peak season, prices were excessive.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ByronofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Spotless room with an overall Asian feel. Great view, free wifi access. BBQ area for guest use and very clean swimming pool. Great walks directly out front both into town and to the surf beach. The young host was so pleasant, so nice, and made me feel so comfortable there that i would go back again and again. I'm guessing the other reviews were written before he took over.

Room Tip: Host told me the wifi access is better upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Great location and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. The property is a little tired and some work has been done in the rooms but more needs to be done to modernise the property. I am glad to be staying for a short time as I dont think my back could handle the bed much longer - very hard and uncomfortable. The rooms are clean and staff are friendly. A 3 star rating with potential to improve further.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

I must admit I was impressed, I booked through the trip advisor app, The room I received was large and well appointed for the reasonable price I paid.

This hotel is situated right opposite the water front and was nicely deck out. I do feel I got good value for money. The room had a little kitchenette with a small fridge and microwave and coffee making facility. I enjoyed the fast free wifi and the free car parking.

Only stayed one night but for me ticked a lot of boxes. I would stay here again.

As a Room tip I would get a water looking view.

Stayed: December 2016
3  Thank Willysduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

On a positive note the rooms are spacious and ours was clean; however this is, unfortunately, the best that can be said about the Abel Tasman. Some efforts have been made to invest in the motel but these have clearly been restricted to new beds, tables and linen. The rooms themselves are significantly outdated with worn tiles and carpets, very old kitchen units, an odd and tired bathroom arrangement and poor lighting. In the bathroom some basic retailing had been done but only partially with poor cut-in to the old tiling. The lobby and public areas are also well-beyond their best. Overall this was very poor value for money and disappointing accommodation. Not recommended.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Bfoulser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The Abel Tasman is situated right on the waterfront at Lakes Entrance and the room was very nicely decorated, and came with a fridge and microwave. Short walk or drive to the shops and footbridge to the beach. Pool was very much appreciated on a hot day. Only stayed one night, but was very comfortable here and would definately consider it again. Thanks Abel Tasman!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
1.9 km away
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
102 reviews
3.8 km away
Paradise Holiday Apartments
Paradise Holiday Apartments
#36 of 39 in Lakes Entrance
42 reviews
1.7 km away
Lakeside Motel Waterfront
Lakeside Motel Waterfront
#1 of 11 in Lakes Entrance
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Cunningham Shore Motel
Cunningham Shore Motel
#4 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
103 reviews
0.2 km away
Echo Beach Tourist Park
Echo Beach Tourist Park
#7 of 39 in Lakes Entrance
61 reviews
0.8 km away
Lakes Waterfront Motel
Lakes Waterfront Motel
#3 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abel Tasman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abel Tasman Motel

Address: 643 - 645 Esplanade, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Lakes Entrance
Price Range: $94 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abel Tasman Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abel Tasman Motor Lodge (AAA 3½ Star) goal is to make your stay a highly satisfying and memorable experience and the following features are available for guests: all rooms have lake views; fully serviced spacious suites with queen beds; kitchenette suites with microwave and cooking facilities(Hot plate & Grill Some with Ovens); quiet remote control split system heating/cooling; Free guest laundry (washing and drying); off- street parking; 32 inch televisions, DVD players in all rooms; Over 500 Complementary DVDs available from reception; sunny, secluded, sheltered, solar heated pool; outside undercover Free barbecue and eating area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Abel Tasman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Motel Lakes Entrance, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing