We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Margaret River Tourist Park
Reviewed 3 March 2017

This was a really good place to stay - lots of space, well set up with everything you need, comfortable, good location and not expensive. The only down side was the lack of WiFi in the 'cottage' so we had to go to a communal area to get a connection. However unexpectedly on the last day of our three day stay we suddenly had full WiFi and Internet connectivity in the cottage. If this is now a permanently decent WiFi then it deserves 5 stars,

Room Tip: Go for a location near the WiFi hubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017

Had 2 bed cabin. Recently refurbished and comfortable. Spacious, clean, very well equipped, and reception staff helpful and friendly. Changed our booking a few days before arrival, and no problem. 10-5 minutes walk into town but essential groceries closer almost opposite Park entrance. Could not pick up wifi from our cabin so sat outside Reception to check emails. Tea, coffee, sugar and a few milk portions, shampoo, soap and body wash provided. Excellent.

Room Tip: Try nearer to Reception for better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elspeth-N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely cabin which was well equipped.
Nice n clean, comfy bed. Friendly staff. Great price. No mosquitos! Stayed two nights. Margaret River is a lovely place to stay. Nice big Fridge with decent size freezer.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robynb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We were a little pissed that even though we gave 48-72 hrs notice that we would be late that they were adamant to not change our booking. So we missed the first night and still got charged which to me just made them look money desperate. Their 30 day booking lock in is pretty crap for people getting around the country. If you're not sure of your timeline don't stay here.
The kitchen was nice and had a gas cooker which was great.
Bathroom was reasonably clean.
Had to ask them to fix our Aircon as it wasn't working and they did (after they told us we probably weren't turning it on properly lol)
Rooms could probably do with a fan in the bedroom as it gets pretty stuffy.
Blinds were coated in cooking grease. They could do with a good wipe down.
Not much privacy at all for camping spaces.
Be a bit more flexible - we are all human.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerstar T, General Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hi and thanks for your comments. We're sorry you haven't had a positive experience with us. We are more than happy to be flexible with people who have genuine or unfortunate reasons for missing or postponing a booking. We do not change bookings or offer refunds simply because people are running behind and cannot honour their booking. The fact you have booked that room means that we have turned people away and are unable to book that room for the night. We have offered you a service by holding that room for you for the period you booked. We are very clear in our cancellation policy, we are happy to work with our customers, but 48 hours is not enough time to allow us to rebook the room.

We're pleased you found the facilities clean and the staff helpful in assisting with your issue.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Regards from the Team at Margaret River Tourist Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We were more than happy with our 3 night stay at MRTP.
The staff were ever so friendly and accommodating as we have a rather large van and the site was perfect!
The distance to town was great, within walking distance and ideal for visiting all the wonderful sights Margaret River is renowned for.
We will definitely visit again soon?

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We had a en suite site and it was an enjoyable stay. Quiet and enough space to have a barbecue next to your caravan, park your car etc.. Close to all the action and the staff were very helpful. This was not a hotel or unit rental we stayed on the caravan site

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dicko1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

This park is completely disorganised and I would NOT recommend it to anyone.
I called to enquire about booking for four families for Christmas 2017. They had the site availability, we chose our sites but asked how big the tent sites were so we could make sure they could accommodate our camper trailers. Nobody could tell me the dimensions of the site (shouldn't this be something they know?!) and they said they would call me back after they'd measured it. I agreed but asked if they could hold the sites pending this information. They said yes and that they would call me back that afternoon. After 3 calls (apparently they couldn't measure the site as someone was on it - WT? Just measure around it!!) and 3 assurances that they were holding the sites, we called back to book only to be told that there was no availability!!!!! Don't bother booking this park as they are so badly disorganised, you'll probably rock up and find they have no site for you

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LisaAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerstar T, General Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Hello Lisa

Firstly, apologies that this has happened. We are terribly sorry that we couldn't accommodate your booking. Our office assistant did tell you how large the site was, but we should have followed up your request to measure the site more promptly. We apologies unreservedly for this. We certainly should have held the site for you while we double checked the site for you. We have had a very busy summer and this was unfortunately missed in a changeover of office staff. We appreciate this is certainly not good enough.

We cannot apologise enough for this, we would be happy to offer you a discount on your next stay with us, if you should choose. Please contact the office directly and we can arrange this with you.

Kind Regards from the Team at Margaret River Tourist Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.7 km away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
263 reviews
1 km away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
276 reviews
1.7 km away
Riverview Tourist Park
Riverview Tourist Park
#11 of 51 in Margaret River
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,027 reviews
2.7 km away
Wharncliffe Mill
Wharncliffe Mill
#10 of 51 in Margaret River
161 reviews
1 km away
Peppermint Brook Cottages
Peppermint Brook Cottages
#16 of 51 in Margaret River
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Tourist Park

Address: 44 Station Road, Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: $93 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaret River Tourist Park 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River Tourist Park is a fabulous home away from home when you travel to the heart of the South West. We provide comfortable cottages, chalets and cabins as well as shaded powered sites and camping grounds. Being situated in the centre of Margaret River, the park is close to numerous attractions, including: Short walk to cafes and shopping in Margaret River town centre 15 minute drive to explore local caves and beaches Short walk to local art Galleries and local arts and crafts Close to the start of numerous scenic forest drives Central to the many vineyards for wine tasting Central to a range of gourmet delights that Margaret River is famous for Walking distance from the local weekend markets and monthly farmers market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Margaret River Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing