We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Trip.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveller rating
834
111
27
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
834
111
27
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones manicured gardens parting gift accor vacation club champagne suite afternoon tea butter and jam breakfast room old world charm tennis courts private courtyard beautiful property coffee machine breakfast was delicious wine glasses margaret river region stayed nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 986 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

Grand Mercure Basildene Manor - Margaret River
"A Little Slice of Heaven"
I have never felt so compelled to write a review on a Hospitality Establishment, as I was for this hidden gem on Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River. From the moment my partner & I drove up the driveway, we could sense there was something very special about this highly recommended 6 Star Resort. Its most rare to come across a resort that oozes "Old World Charm", yet you feel like you're in a brand new property. The botanical gardens are breathtaking and the rooms are exquisitely appointed with a decor befitting this Heritage Listed Property. The staff treat you like family and are so very eager to please. They endeavour to accommodate your every wish, and in my humble opinion, do not fall short of the mark. My only regret is that we didn't book a longer stay. On our 1st day we were treated to a scrumptious Afternoon Tea, complete with the most delicious scones I have ever eaten, served with real heavy thickened cream and home made jam. Most hotels/resorts would be lucky to have 2 or 3 premium teas on offer. The Grand Mercure Basildene Manor had a dozen exotic teas and another dozen varieties of delicious pod coffee. There were complimentary ginger nut cookies, and real full cream milk, as opposed to the horrible tasting low fat milks that other properties try to pass off as a nutritious alternative. When we finally sat down at our table by the window and looked out upon the magnificent and meticulously well manicured botanical gardens, I thought I died and went to heaven. Despite the fact that my phone camera takes the most beautiful pictures, no camera could do this view justice. It was literally "Breathtaking". When the waitress served us our special order gluten-free scones, she asked if we had seen the wine cellar, to which I replied not yet. Then, I hobbled over to an anti-room, which I affectionately and colloquially call a "Den". There was a open hearth fireplace with real flames and artificial logs that looked as real as can be. In the floor was a double-glazed tempered glass panel that allowed you to view their hidden wine cellar...how interesting. Antique furniture and comfortable sofas and chairs complimented by limited edition framed prints tracing the history of the region and the heritage listed property. Our breakfast the next day was equally impressive, with a array of fresh fruits and melons, cereals, homemade cakes, scones, and a choice of a cooked breakfast or Continental. Yes, 6 Star without a doubt, and I'm giving it a 9.9 rating out of 10. Do yourself a favour a book a couple of days at least to soak up the unparalleled atmosphere of everything this exceptional resort has to offer.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear Rico2951,

Wow! What a sensational and detailed review of your recent Manor experience.
Thank you for your kind comments and we all hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Daniela and the Team@Basildene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

Excellent stay with welcoming arrival to the manor, including a brief overview on history of the property. Beautiful grounds and gardens which have been kept carefully.

Room (Verdelho) comfortable and well furnished, clean and well appointed bathroom with good shower. Plates and glasses available to eat in the room, along with complimentary water and treat by the side of the bed in the evening.

Teas and coffee available all day, complimentary afternoon tea in the lounge. On site breakfast includes continental and cooked options, open from 8-10. Two common areas available for relaxing, with board games and books. Lovely spot by the fire on a chilly day day or in the evening.

Personal touch including Easter eggs around the property on Easter Sunday which was special. Scones for the road when we checked out unexpected and appreciated.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank F3174IIbenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear F3174llber,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent Manor stay.
We were very lucky to have had a visit from the Easter bunny and the team and I love that you enjoyed the egg hunt.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Daniela and the Team@Basildene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2019

We had a fantastic week at Basildene Manor as part of our Accor Vacation Club membership. Catherine and I were greeted on arrival and give an tour of the Manor before being taken to our room, a large suite with balcony overlooking the grounds.

We had a full breakfast on three of our days, setting us up well for our daily tours of the Margaret River region including wineries, breweries, restaurants, lighthouses and caves. The food was great and service was attentive.

Amanda took time to mark a map of recommended wineries as well as tips to local restaurants that gave a discount to Basildene Manor guests. What more could you ask for?

A week filled with wonderful memories.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Silver M,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of your recent Manor experience.
It is always our pleasure to look after our guests with tips and recommendations and we are delighted that you enjoyed a week full of wonderful memories.
We hope to welcome you on another occasion in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniela and the Team@Basildene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

Frank and l visit this wonderful manor regularly through our Accor Vacation Club membership and we are never disappointed! It’s the ideal escape for honeymoon couples or anyone wanting to get away fro the rat race. The staff are number one and feel more like family members now!!!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Dear Lucia S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your most recent Manor experience.
We love that you feel we are more like family members! We feel the same way!
Don't leave it too long before you come back home and we will look forward to welcoming you.

Warm regards,

Daniela and the Team@Basildene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2019

We love going here to get away from PERTH for a few days. Close to Margaret River township but away enough to be peaceful. Beautiful gardens to relax in and tennis court if you want some exercise. We take our push bikes so we can ride to local cafes etc.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kazbuck2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Dear kazbuck2018,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Manor experience.
We look forward to welcoming you the next time you get away.

Warm regards,

Daniela and the Team@Basildene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews