We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penang Holiday”

Katch-Up Seafood Grill & More
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$72
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Katch-Up at the top end of Margaret River is the only seafood restaurant in town and offers upmarket, casual dining. With its nice, large al fresco area and a cosy stone fireplace Katch-Up has evolved to a new Margaret River favourite. The team of highly qualified European chefs are passionate about creating innovative dishes highlighting quality fish and seafood with changing specials. Their commitment to using local and seasonal produce is of primary importance. Besides seafood and fish, Katch-Up offers a variety of meat dishes and vegetarian options and also caters for special dietary requirements. One of Katch-Up's all-time favourites are the marron, the highly appreciated and sought after fresh water crayfish native to Australia's South West, which is served as an entrée as well as a main course. However, to indulge into a unique and unforgettable seafood treat, Katch-Up's legendary 'Seafood Platter for Two' with two whole Donnybrook marron, one in the cold and one in the hot section, is a must. Katch-Up is fully licensed. The wine list created by owner Silvia Koehler, a former Swiss wine importer, offers a great variety of Western Australian wines and some fine drops from Europe and New Zealand. It is the foremost goal of the kitchen and floor team to make guests feel welcome and at home and to fulfil all their needs and wishes where possible. Katch-Up is the winner of the 2017 'Readers Choice Award' for Seafood of the Australian Good Food and Travel Guide.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

The hotel had just introduce a buffet dinner and it was rather disappointing, especially the food was not kept hot and wasn't value for money.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 746 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2018

As seafood lovers and regular restaurant patrons, we were looking forward to a night of delight, but instead our group of 8 were served average meals by unhappy and inattentive staff. The fish was dry and tasteless, the seafood platter was well overpriced and undersized, and our finished dirty plates remained on the table well into the dessert phase. Not impressive for the only seafood restaurant in town. Perhaps it was just a bad night for the restaurant in general and they can do better. It we will be trying Dunsborough next time.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Cassandrae24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2018

We had a seafood tower for 2 which was fantastic! Thy only had one marron to serve us so we were treated to the best scallops I have ever tasted - yummm!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank judyrahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

Had dinner here on Saturday night with friends and was pleasantly surprised by the setup and ambience. I had expected more of a cafe/ fish and chips place but it's actually quite nice. The welcome was warm and we had a beautifull big comfortable booth for the four of us. Not a big crowd but expect that was a combination of the lousy weather and our 8.30 booking.
Menu is extensive with a good range of seafood dishes as well as the standard offering of beef etc and the nightly specials. All of our dishes were beautifully presented and the staff were really friendly.
No complaints about the food either from our fussy group. We enjoyed the spicy mussel special, a seafood chowder, crayfish with a yummy risotto and a big plate of fish and chips.
Unfortunately we were too full for dessert but look forward to trying them next time we're in Margs.
And thanks to the staff for making us feel very welcome to linger with our drinks even though everyone else had gone. We never felt pressured and were in fact encouraged to stay as long as we liked even though it was getting late, so thankyou Katch Up staff for you hospitality. We'll definitely be back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Jody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2018

This restaurant was recommended by one of the staff at Basildene Manor where we were staying. Grace booked us a table and a taxi ( so we could have wine with dinner ).
We enjoyed it so much we went back on the following two evenings.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank johnill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katch-Up Seafood Grill & More also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Katch-Up Seafood Grill & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing