We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
23
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 24 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2015

we have stayed here in february 2013(!).
great place, good people, you get 2 rooms AND a GREAT bathroom with a bath nad shower, separate wc

Very friendly british people.

next time wwhen we go to NZ to Auckland area, we'll sure stay at this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alenushka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Owner at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Lovely to hear from you and thank you for your nice review. We're pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed 5 nights with Liz and Mike at Binnowee B&B whilst attending a Tree Crops
Conference in Whangarei. They are superb hosts.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are happy to recommend this accommodation.

The garden location is peaceful and welcoming.

Room Tip: One room only - ideal for a couple looking for a quite relaxed ambience.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E5091YYbobp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Owner at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2015

We enjoy meeting and taking care of our guests so it's lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review - we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2015

My wife and I recently stayed for one night at the Binnowee b&b after booking it through the local information center in the town. The place surpassed the information we were given at the time of booking. We were made very welcome by Mike and Liz on arrival and were very impressed by the many additional touches that were available to guests! Home made plum loaf and chocolate biscuits were available in the breakfast room for instance. The bathroom came fully stocked with all toiletries which really impressed my wife. We would recommend this b&b to anyone looking to stay in the Whangarei area.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Owner at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

It is always lovely to know our guests have enjoyed their stay with us, whether that be for one night or longer. It was a pleasure to meet you. We hope the rest of your holiday in New Zealand goes well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2015

My husband and I stayed with Mike and Liz from Dec 26th - Jan 1st of 2015 while we were visiting our family in Whangarei. Their lovely home is in a very quiet neighborhood a few minutes outside of the city in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in the area. The bedroom, living room and bathroom are tastefully decorated with interesting antiques and art. The set up has a private entrance and the living room area is extremely comfortable and includes a refrigerator that is kept stocked with cheese, milk, juice, homemade jams, and spreads. Liz often surprised us with tasty treats (fruit cake, tarts and muffins). The very large bathroom is subdivided into a half bath area and then a large glass enclosed shower, spa tub, double sinks and a heated towel rack. Everything is very new and is kept spotlessly clean. Towels were changed daily and sheets were changed every two days. The garden is fabulous - I am a botanist and loved exploring all of the native and non native plants that are planted in beautiful borders. Mike and Liz are extremely knowledgeable about the local area and provided lots of help during our stay. We had our choice of breakfast and hot toast and croissants were served to our living room area every morning at a time we designated. They are very friendly and welcoming but also gave us our privacy as well. We stayed in a highly rated hotel for a few days over Christmas in Whangarei which ended up being incredibly noisy and quite expensive. This bed and breakfast operation is first class all the way, and we will stay there again on our next visit to NZ.
Thanks for all of your wonderful hospitality! Carolyn and Phil

Room Tip: Don't stay in the city - it is very noisy and there is a problem with things being stolen from cars in the parking lots.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Owner at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

Thank you for your generous review. We really enjoyed having you to stay and it was our pleasure to share our home with you whilst you were in Whangarei. Your comments are very much appreciated and give prospective guests an insight into staying at Binnowee.
So pleased you enjoyed our garden. It was lovely to meet someone so knowledgeable about plants.
We hope the remainder of your holiday in New Zealand went well.
Happy & safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

My mum, who is somewhat insanely hard to please, couldn't fault it. My dad loved it. I thought it very pretty, luxurious & cosy, and a better option than the random motels and hotels in the area. Sofa bed for a third person (ie me) was comfy.
Oh, and warm croissants, and lovely cakes, and homemade jams, and, well, you get the idea ...

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Owner at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor; we really appreciate your lovely comments.
We're delighted to know we met your high expectations and you found our B&B to be very comfortable and luxurious.
We enjoyed meeting you and your parents and we look forward to hosting you all again if you are in Whangarei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews