We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest accommodation to Whangarei Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

It was a bit different from an ordinary backpakcers mainly because it's also a holiday park. You have to go outside to go to the toilet, shower, and kitchen. They also have a swimming pool, hot spa and trampoline - great for children. The 10-bed dorm room was divided into three sections, two of which had a curain you can draw for some privacy. I didn't feel like sleeping in the 10-bed dorm room at all, which was good. The room had its own fridge. I wouldn't recommend this place as a backpackers, but happily recommend it as a holiday park.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elysiriarelsila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here in campervan for 1 night. Very, very clean facilities. Really friendly management. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzchz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

well i don't know how other places compare in the area, however it was a nice stay here. the room was clean with a few spiders here and there, however i believe it would be like that anywhere in the area. There is a nice size kitchen area for everyone to use. It felt kinda like camping with a roof over our heads. The bathroom facilities were clean and i noticed they changed the hand towel every day. The bathrooms, showers, and kitchens are community based and separate from the actual rooms. But they are right outside your door, not a long walk or anything. There is a fun trampoline and hot tub to use as well and nice picnic tables outside to eat at if you choose. staff friendly and helpful when it comes to town area, directions etc.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Large shared room, heating (very important!), 2 dollars for bedding, good value for money, the staff were great in helping me get to my pre-booked dive, warm, comfortable, everything I could need! The only negative was that the shower and toilet blocks were outside, which meant they were a little cold... It's really close to the falls walk, which is stunning whatever the weather. However everything was clean and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7SunSeeker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The host was excellent and introduced guests to each other so they could go on a walk to see glow worms. A nice touch.
The kitchen was good, but the sitting room could use a couple more chairs.
The rooms were clean and well kept.
It gives YHAs a good name.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deaduncleted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here for one night as our first stop over on a week long tour of the North. The hostel is up on a hill, a short distance away from the town, therefore we were grateful that we had a car for going to the supermarket and visiting the nearby caves. We booked an 8 bed mixed dorm with a shared bathroom and found the beds very comfortable and the bathrooms efficient and clean. The kitchen/lounge area is small but sufficient for the number of rooms here. The kitchen was well kitted with appliances and equipment to cook which was ideal. The staff were very friendly and they took the time and effort to answer questions about directions and what to do in the surrounding area.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This hostel was very welcoming and well kept. The manager Ally was incredibly helpful and friendly, she made us all feel at home. Its a bit of a walk to the town centre but there is a short cut the staff can point out. All in all a very pleasent place to relax for a few days, its helpful to have a car though if you want to get out and see the nearby coastline which is beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynTrewella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
8.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
3.8 km away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
5.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 34 in Whangarei
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Motel Villa Del Rio
Motel Villa Del Rio
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
82 reviews
3.3 km away
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.6 km away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers

Address: 12 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Whangarei
Price Range: $52 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-run backpackers and holiday park in a semi-rural setting two-minutes' walk away from the beautiful Whangarei waterfalls and scenic walking tracks. Stroll to town along bush-lined riverside walks or laze the day away beside the swimming pool. Evenings are for soaking in the hot tub and sharing stories around the BBQ. Our aim is to provide clean, comfortable accommodation in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Located 5kms north east of Whangarei City centre on the Twin Coast Highway, we provide an ideal base for diving and exploring the Poor Knight Islands. Beautiful coastal beaches and Tutukaka with its marina are a short drive away. We can organise diving, snorkelling and kayaking at the Poor Knights with arranged transport from the front gate available. Local bus stops, shops and a supermarket are within a short walk. Internet Provided. CityLink Bus# 3 and 3a bus stop 300m down the road. We look forward to having you stay with us. ~Martin and Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HostelWorld so you can book your Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing