We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
116
70
16
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
70
16
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubwhangarei fallsholiday parkbbq areathe kitchenswimming poolstayed hereone nighthelpful ownercovered areaextremely knowledgeable about the areakettle and toasterdorm roomguided tourawesome tripprivate cabinnice place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 214 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2017

Stopped off here for two nights on the Lions Tour and was everything I expected. Comfortable rooms, good facilities and information on everything from the owner. Very helpful. Would stay here again. Kitchen, toilets, showers and a RB lounge add to an already good environment.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jalmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whfalls, Manager at YHA Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Hello jalmurphy,

We are glad you enjoyed your time here.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2017

Arrived to a brilliant reception. Very informative regarding what to do and when to do it, which was helpful as me and my partner hadn't really planned much in the area. Facilities were good, clean and the site itself is in a great location, near to local shops, waterfalls and the town.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Graciemorrison123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whfalls, Manager at YHA Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Hello Graciemorrison123,

We are glad you enjoyed your time here and were able to get some useful information from our welcome at check-in.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Really nice place, clean and really hospitable staff. Fairly close to all the main attractions in and around the city, about one hour walk to the ones furthest away. Easy to get to aswell with the local bus. Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Olof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whfalls, Manager at YHA Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Hello Olof B.,

We are glad you enjoyed your time here in Whangarei and at our hostel so much. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to our cleaners and maintenance staff.

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile

I came to Whangarei to see the falls and Abbey Caves. Very nice hostel just 2mins from the falls and an hour to the Caves. With a little swimming pool and a hot pool. The staff is very nice and gave me tips what else I can do here.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank MariaExplorrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whfalls, Manager at YHA Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Hello MariaExplorrr,

We are glad you enjoyed your time here, and the lovely walks to the falls and glow worm caves.

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017

Stayed in our van. But all the facilities were very good. Had an awesome greeting, showed us around the place. A good lounge/TV room, kitchen, toilets and showers (free). It was more expensive than we were wanting to pay but its in a great location near town and local attractions and was definitely worth the money.

MC

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 453mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whfalls, Manager at YHA Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Hello 453Mitch,

We are glad you found everything to your liking, and decided it was definitely worth the money.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews