We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
121
72
16
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
72
16
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub holiday park the kitchen swimming pool bed dorm stayed here for two nights covered area barbecue place helpful owner one night local area guided tour abbey caves awesome trip private cabin very nice stay great facilities
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 221 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

Super comfy place to stay! Close to Matapouri (beautiful beach), the falls and the town Centre! Great beds, and kitchen! The owner is very Nice and helpful. The rooms are big and clean. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Antonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiFalls, Manager at YHA Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Thank you for your review Antonia.

We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us and that you appreciated your room, our facilities and the beautiful surroundings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here one night in a tent. The pool and hot tub were nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Easy walking to falls and trails to aerial board walk.

Men's bathrooms smelled strongly of urine - didn't appear to have been cleaned for awhile. Women's bathroom was ok. Women's showers were filthy - both sinks stopped up - mounds of hair in drain of one (there are two) spiders on the ceiling.

Picnic tables at sites rotted with spiders.

Shower and bathroom facilities are quite old - but would be okay if thoroughly cleaned. Kitchen is small.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dturley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiFalls, Manager at YHA Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed the pool and the hot tub as well as the natural surroundings.
We take the cleanliness of our facilities very seriously and have a strict cleaning process with several inspections each day.
Our showers have been upgraded in the last 12 months and we are in the process of updating the rest of our facilities.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

This is a good base to use whilst in Whangarei. This is a holiday park / backpackers, so facilities sit independently of rooms. I found the place clean and well maintained and liked the retro feel to the rooms. The kitchen was a little tired and could do with a refurb but had all the things you needed, apart from glasses, which aren't supplied.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whfalls, Manager at YHA Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

Thank you for your review.
We will give your compliments to the cleaning team.
We do try to keep all our facilities clean and well maintained within a process of continuous updating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018

The worse place we have ever stayed dirty dirty dirty used shoes just to have a shower due to the build up of scum and dirt
too noisy to dirty
the facility's need updating no tv or hand basins in the rooms all shared
our room had a fridge full of bugs from rotting milk which had seeped in the trays in the fridge and looked caked into the plastic he smell was unbearable
hair on the beds old beds just did not enjoy this place at all dirty stained chairs a camper next to our room smoke dope and it went thru our room told staff no reaction

Room tip: do not stay here but if you must room 6 would be the quietness except for vesicles arriving or leaving
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shimmintoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiFalls, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review which we take very seriously.

We pride ourselves on how clean we keep not only the rooms and shared facilities but also the camp grounds, which is the usual experience as per the vast majority of our reviews. You may like to know that all our Standard4 cabins have in the past 6 weeks had new carpets laid as well as new bedside tables, chest of drawers, lighting and bedding.

At the time of booking your accommodation it would have been made clear to you that the cabins have no en suite facilities, with guests sharing communal toilets, showers, kitchen, BBQ / outside dinning area, swimming pool, hot tub, TV lounge / library.

Fridges are cleaned daily as part of our routine room clean.

I understand that you only informed the manager when you were checking-out about a camper allegedly smoking so I'm not sure what the manager was expected to do at this late stage. It would have been more helpful to us and improved your stay experience if you had let us know of your concerns at the time rather than saying nothing or waiting until you left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

Just had an amazing time! The hostel is super clean and everything is well equipped. Every single staff member was really helpful and super polite. Really great location if you have your own car or are willing to hitchhike. Plus really close to waterfalls

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank DonLonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiFalls, Manager at YHA Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will pass your compliments to the cleaning team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews