We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wallace & Gromit arrive in the South Island”
Review of Gables Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gables Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
North Lincs
Level Contributor
171 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wallace & Gromit arrive in the South Island”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Ian & Tui had only been in residence for a few weeks when we arrived, having taken over from Graeme & Jill who we booked with. We used TA from the UK to choose this stop and it didn’t disappoint, even if we didn’t pay for the top spec room. Ours was clean if a little compact, with no separate dining table. It did have a spa bath but we were warned it may drain the room’s hot water system, so we didn’t use it! Gables Motor Lodge is just a few minutes drive from the centre of Greymouth, but there’s a good restaurant (Buccleugh’s) a couple of hundred metres away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilaj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Greetings Wallace and Gromit! It appears that we may have given you the wrong impression re the spa bath in your unit, for which we do apologize. Our spa baths are used often and there is certainly plenty of hot water. If you are ever back this way, we hope that you will stay with us again so that you can enjoy the relaxing spa bath you missed out on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    149
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
208
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2012. Great pool across the road - handy for kids. Good bathroom. Short drive to the town centre. Supermarket is a 100m walk up the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255060Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and also the pool. We're lucky to have such a wonderful facility across the road from the motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 when travelling round the S Island. Its situated a little outside of the main town area - but on the main road so was relatively easy to find. The owner had only taken possession 2 days before - and it was very busy - so he was a man under pressure - BUT - he was very friendly and helpful . The rooms were very comfy and clean . The only suggestion we could make was for a small bar of soap to be provided - as there was bath/shower gel provided but if this was used on the night time in the spa bath ( as we did ) there was nothing for a shower in the morning - other than that we could not fault this motel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. In keeping with our commitment to the environment, we have installed dispensers for bodywash/shampoo in all our bathrooms in order to reduce the amount of plastic products we use, such as disposable plastic bottles and/or individually wrapped soaps, and to ensure that there is always sufficient for our guests' needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Conveniently located just out of town opposite the aquatic centre. I’d booked months earlier and couldn’t remember what it was like but my expectations were quite low – especially as it was just a place for one night, Greymouth being one of those places you stop at because it’s simply a midway point between 2 other places. How wrong I was – unlike many of the jaded looking places you pass as you motor round the South Island this looks to be a relatively new motel and is all the better for it even if some of the room fittings like the lighting are very poor. So it’s hardly luxurious but it has everything you need for a one night stay – plus a friendly host and a large well stocked supermarket just a 5 minute stroll away. It was quiet, comfortable and very good value and isn’t that what a motel is supposed to be.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thankyou for your review. Since your stay we have conducted a lighting audit and, in keeping with our commitment to the environment, have installed energy saver eco-bulbs which provide good lighting in all the units and have also installed additional lights where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Friendly service, great value for money. Room was spacious and comfortable. Owner provided good tips for local trips + great pub food at Speights Ale House. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMonkeyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We arrived quite early (noon) and were happy that a room was ready for us to freshen up before visiting Punakaiki. Very friendly staff who recommended a great restaurant within walking distance (Buccleugh's). They also recommended an alternative drive to Nelson, along with a hiking recommendation - we took their advice and were very happy with our choice. Room was a little small and decor a bit dated, but there was a wonderful spa tub. Standard kitchenette. Very close to large grocery store to stock up on breakfast needs and snacks.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is a great motor lodge. The staff were very friendly and the quality of the room was fantastic. Indeed, I've can't say I've ever experienced a better quality motor lodge anywhere in the world (and I travel a lot).
I only used Greymouth as a stop over between long driving days on the South Island but this place surprised me. Well done to the proprietor and staff for putting together such a great place.
That being said however, it is still in Greymouth (which is not worth visiting even if you are a fan of Monteiths beer/cider) and the area that the motor lodge is in is quite grim. The next motor lodge along (the Aachen Motor Lodge) had about 5 police cars in its car park which seemed to be crime related (just a bit).
All of that aside, however, this is a great place to drop anchor on your way around the stunning South Island - highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I had the big suite on the end (room 12) and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your comments and we hope that the rest of your holiday went well. The police cars were at the Aachen Motor Lodge because police staff stay there when conducting traffic campaigns on the West Coast. Greymouth has one of the lowest crime rates in New Zealand, so there is certainly no cause for concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.5 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
183 reviews
1.6 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
454 reviews
6.2 km away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
240 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
302 reviews
0.2 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motor Lodge

Property: Gables Motor Lodge
Address: 84 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
#4 Family Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground-floor spacious, comfortable, well-appointed studio, 1 & 2-bedroom suites, serviced daily. 6 Studio suites (sleep 1-2), 3 x 1-bedroom suites (sleep up to 5), 3 x 2-bedroom suites (sleep up to 6). Fully equipped kitchens, microwave, fridge. Super-King/queen-size beds, electric blankets, heating, hairdryers, telephone. SKY TV 50+ digital channels, DVD players in all rooms, selection of DVD movies available at reception, spa baths (some suites). Continental breakfast, guest laundry. Cot/highchair available on request. 50M to licensed restaurant. Unlimited FREE WiFi internet. All major credit cards, EFTPOS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gables Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing